职位摘要

麦克奈特基金会寻求两名计划官员来推进其目标 中西部气候与能源 (MC&E)计划 到2030年大幅减少中西部的碳污染,对气候危机采取大胆行动。新的计划官员将帮助塑造和指导基金会气候倡议的轨迹。这些角色为慈善干预提供思想领袖方面令人兴奋的机会,而他们对种族平等的坚定承诺也为他们提供了支持和加速气候创新和战略的良机。

向中西部气候与能源计划主任汇报时,计划官员将监督并与中间资助者建立重要的赠款组合和伙伴关系,并与McKnight's积极合作 影响力投资 团队和 充满活力和公平的社区 程序团队。 MC&E计划使用其慈善资金来支持通过伙伴关系建立力量,协调气候和公平目标以推动针对气候危机采取大胆行动的努力。

报告关系

MC&E计划官员是个人贡献者。他们向MC&E的项目总监报告。

主要责任

战略实施

  • 管理一系列赠款,以支持能源系统的转型,使运输和建筑物电气化以及在明尼苏达州和中西部上层的工作土地上封存碳。
  • 与现有的受赠人和新的潜在客户建立并保持关系,以从当前的工作中学习,探索新兴的机会并建立新的概念。
  • 积极与影响力投资的McKnight同事以及董事会的使命投资委员会互动,以识别和分析可促进计划目标的与使命和计划相关的投资。

外部伙伴关系

  • 与资金中介机构管理重要的合作伙伴关系,并监督和通过这些合作伙伴进行的新的和扩展的投资。
  • 与倡导组织(包括但不限于那些专注于气候正义,环境保护,民主参与和清洁能源的组织),基金会,学术机构,监管机构和政策制定者召集并合作,以支持跨部门合作,以加强计划目标。
  • 在学习和实践社区中担任基金会的代表,帮助塑造该领域对减少碳排放的反应和支持。

思想领导与倡导

  • 在外部观众中代表基金会和MC&E计划,并在我们努力实现种族平等的承诺的同时,在实现全经济范围的温室气体减排方面发挥领导作用。
  • 作为与能源转换有关的技术和政策问题的资源。跟踪市场和政治趋势,以发现进行慈善干预的高杠杆机会。
  • 在气候,种族和经济正义的相互依存关系上表现出值得信赖的声音。

核心竞争力

预计McKnight的所有领导者都应显示以下属性:

  • 战略思维
  • 有效沟通
  • 灌输信任
  • 推动结果
  • 管理复杂性
  • 建立网络
  • 有效合作
  • 模型弹性

关键要求

  • 在地方或国家层面至少有五年的气候和能源问题经验。
  • 对解决气候危机和在气候解决方案范围内解决种族平等的热情和承诺。必须通过种族平等的视角带给人们解决气候和能源问题的现实经验或坚定的承诺。
  • 一位非常好奇和可信的气候通才,他具有脱碳的技术或政策知识,或者在运动建设,跑步运动,基层组织或相关活动方面的经验。
  • 在能源系统,交通运输和建筑电气化以及在工作区域隔离碳的直接工作经验。
  • 在建立与盟友和不同分歧线之间的牢固关系方面的往绩记录。能够驾驭各种环境和利益相关者群体的复杂性,从相互竞争的角度寻求理解并推动实现共同目标。
  • 高度发展的情商,表现出以尊重,合作和外交方式使用人际交往能力和政治敏锐度的能力。
  • 清晰的战略和运营愿景以及综合信息并将长期和短期的愿景转化为行动步骤的卓越技能。
  • 出色的口头和书面交流能力,包括表现出的研究,倾听,综合和分析信息,撰写文件以及以清晰简洁的方式向包括高层管理人员,计划人员和董事会在内的相关人员提供数据的能力。
  • 出色的分析能力和在高度细微的背景下影响变化的能力。
  • 前瞻性和前瞻性,以顺应趋势并预期变化和对组织的潜在影响。
  • 表现出对歧义的容忍度,具有独立工作的能力,可根据需要寻求输入。
  • 清晰的组织和优先级排序技能,可以在具有多个竞争需求的快速环境中按时完成任务。轻松地从战略制定切换到日常执行的能力。
  • 真正渴望听取别人的意见和向他们学习,渴望尊重受赠人,并与合作伙伴组织和行业专家一起创造持续学习的环境。

薪酬与福利

McKnight提供有竞争力的薪酬方案。福利包括健康,牙科,人寿和伤残保险;充足的带薪休假;为退休计划供款;配套的慈善礼品计划;以及灵活的工作环境。这些是位于明尼阿波利斯的全职免职职位。薪水范围是$106,000–$112,000。

麦克奈特基金会是一个机会平等的雇主,自豪地重视多元化。我们鼓励所有背景的候选人申请。

申请

下载 工作概况。请通过以下方式提交您的简历和求职信,表达您对该职位的兴趣并适合该职位 Waldron的候选人门户。信件可能会寄给Sarah Meyer。

该搜索是在来自以下机构的团队的协助下进行的 华登.

莎拉·迈耶(Sarah Meyer), 副总统
直接:206-792-4221

莫里·史密斯,搜索助理
直接:206-462-6190

中西部气候与能源计划

2019年,McKnight董事会批准了新的使命声明,新的 战略框架,以及计划投资的几项转变。这些努力包括对其 中西部气候与能源 (MC&E)计划,该计划有望从2020年的每年$1,600万美元增加到2022年的$3,200万美元,这反映了气候危机的紧迫性和董事会的高度重视。

扩展的MC&E计划目标是 到2030年大幅减少中西部的碳污染,对气候危机采取大胆行动。要以必要的速度和规模实现这一宏伟目标,还需要 健康的民主以种族和经济正义为基础,所有人都有发言权和权力来改变影响其生活和生计的问题。 MC&E团队将与McKnight的 充满活力和公平的社区 该计划支持社区建立强大的多种族运动以促进变革。

MC&E计划通过通过清洁能源改变能源系统,使交通和建筑电气化,在工作地上封存碳并加强民主参与来构想繁荣的,碳中和的中西部经济。在McKnight的核心价值观中,这项工作采用了各种方法,政策和流程来增强社区的声音,动员集体行动并在气候解决方案的背景下解决种族平等问题。

Position Summary

The McKnight Foundation seeks two Program Officers to advance the goal of its Midwest Climate & Energy (MC&E) program to take bold action on the climate crisis by dramatically cutting carbon pollution in the Midwest by 2030. The new Program Officers will help shape and guide the trajectory of the Foundation’s climate initiatives. These roles present exciting opportunities for thought leadership around philanthropic interventions, informed by a deep commitment to racial equity, to support and accelerate climate innovations and strategies.

Reporting to the Program Director of Midwest Climate & Energy, the Program Officers will oversee and build significant grant portfolios and partnerships with intermediary funders and actively collaborate with McKnight’s Impact Investing team and Vibrant & Equitable Communities program team. The MC&E program uses its philanthropic funding to support efforts that build power through partnership, aligning climate and equity goals to advance bold action on the climate crisis.

Reporting Relationships

The MC&E Program Officers are individual contributor roles. They report to the Program Director for MC&E.

Key Responsibilities

Strategic Implementation

  • Manage a portfolio of grants that support transforming the energy system, electrifying transportation and buildings, and sequestering carbon on working lands in Minnesota and the Upper Midwest.
  • Develop and maintain relationships with existing grantees and new prospects to learn from current work, explore emerging opportunities, and build new concepts.
  • Actively engage with McKnight colleagues in Impact Investing and the board’s Mission Investment Committee to identify and analyze mission and program-related investments that advance program goals.

External Partnerships

  • Manage key partnerships with funding intermediaries and oversee new and expanded investments in and through these partners.
  • Convene and collaborate with advocacy organizations (including, but not limited to, those focused on climate justice, environmental protection, democratic participation, and clean energy), foundations, academic institutions, regulators, and policymakers to support cross-sector collaborations that reinforce program goals.
  • Serve as a representative of the Foundation in communities of learning and practice, helping to shape the field’s response to and support of carbon reduction.

Thought Leadership and Advocacy

  • Represent the Foundation and the MC&E program to external audiences and provide leadership in our efforts to achieve economy-wide greenhouse gas emission reductions while advancing a commitment to racial equity.
  • Serve as a resource on technical and policy issues relating to energy transformation. Track market and political trends to identify high-leverage opportunities for philanthropic intervention.
  • Stand as a trusted voice on the interdependence of climate and racial and economic justice.

Core Competencies

All leaders at McKnight are expected to display the following attributes:

  • Strategic mindset
  • Communicates effectively
  • Instills trust
  • Drives results
  • Manages complexity
  • Builds networks
  • Collaborates effectively
  • Models resiliency

Key Requirements

  • A minimum of five years of experience in climate and energy issues on a local or national level.
  • Passion for and commitment to solving the climate crisis and addressing racial equity within the context of climate solutions. Must bring lived experience or a demonstrated commitment to addressing climate and energy through a racial equity lens.
  • A deeply curious and credible climate generalist who brings either technical or policy knowledge of decarbonization or experience in movement-building, running campaigns, grassroots organizing, or related activities.
  • Direct work experience in energy systems, electrifying transportation and buildings, and sequestering carbon on working lands.
  • Demonstrated track record of building strong relationships with allies and across lines of difference. Capacity to navigate the complexity of diverse environments and stakeholder groups, seeking to understand and drive towards common goals from competing perspectives.
  • Highly developed emotional intelligence and demonstrated ability to use interpersonal skills and political acumen in respectful, collaborative, and diplomatic ways.
  • Clear strategic and operational vision and exceptional skill in synthesizing information and translating vision into action steps for the long and short term.
  • Exceptional oral and written communication skills including the demonstrated ability to research, listen, synthesize and analyze information, compose documents, and present data in a clear and concise manner to appropriate personnel, including top management, program staff, and board of directors.
  • Exceptional analytical skills and an ability to influence change in highly nuanced contexts.
  • Proactive and forward-looking to follow trends and anticipate changes and potential impacts to the organization.
  • Demonstrated tolerance for ambiguity, with the ability to work independently yet seek input as needed.
  • Clear organization and prioritization skills to meet deadlines in a fast-paced environment with multiple and competing demands. Ability to switch from strategy development to daily execution with ease.
  • Genuine desire to listen to and learn from others, operating from respect for grantees and creating an environment of continuous learning with partner organizations and sector experts.

Compensation and Benefits

McKnight provides a competitive compensation package. Benefits include health, dental, life, and disability insurance; generous paid time off; contribution to a retirement plan; matching charitable gifts program; and a flexible work environment. These are full-time, exempt positions based in Minneapolis. The salary range is $106,000–$112,000.

The McKnight Foundation is an equal opportunity employer and proudly values diversity. We encourage candidates of all backgrounds to apply.

To Apply

Please submit your resume and cover letter expressing your interest in the position and fit for the role via Good Citizen’s Candidate Portal. Letters may be addressed to Sarah Meyer.

This search is being conducted with assistance from a team from Good Citizen, formerly known as Waldron.

Sarah Meyer, Vice President
Direct: 206-792-4221

Mollie Smith, Search Associate
Direct: 206-462-6190

Midwest Climate & Energy Program

In 2019, McKnight’s board of directors approved a new mission statement, a new Strategic Framework, and several shifts in programmatic investments. These efforts included a significant expansion of its Midwest Climate & Energy (MC&E) program, which is on track to double from $16 million in annual grants in 2020 to $32 million by 2022, reflecting the urgency of the climate crisis and a high priority for the board.

The expanded MC&E program goal is to take bold action on the climate crisis by dramatically cutting carbon pollution in the Midwest by 2030. Achieving this ambitious goal at the necessary speed and scale also requires a healthy democracy, grounded in racial and economic justice, one in which all people have the voice and power to bring about change to the issues affecting their lives and livelihoods. The MC&E team will pursue this strategy in close partnership with McKnight’s Vibrant & Equitable Communities program, which supports communities in building powerful multiracial movements for change.

The MC&E program envisions a thriving, carbon-neutral Midwestern economy by transforming the energy system through clean power, electrifying transportation and buildings, sequestering carbon on working lands, and strengthening democratic participation. Anchored in McKnight’s core values, the work engages approaches, policies, and processes that empower community voices, mobilize collective action, and address racial equity within the context of climate solutions.