ملخص الموقف

تسعى مؤسسة McKnight إلى الحصول على مسؤول برنامج أول لتعزيز هدفها الغرب الأوسط المناخ والطاقة برنامج (MC&E) لاتخاذ إجراءات جريئة بشأن أزمة المناخ عن طريق الحد بشكل كبير من تلوث الكربون في الغرب الأوسط بحلول عام 2030. سيلعب كبير مسؤولي البرنامج الجديد دورًا رائدًا في تطوير محفظة وشراكات عبر منطقة من ثماني دول تركز على استراتيجيات إزالة الكربون العميق . يقدم هذا الدور فرصة مثيرة لقيادة الفكر حول التدخلات الخيرية ، مسترشدة بالتزام عميق بالمساواة العرقية ، لدعم وتسريع الابتكارات والاستراتيجيات المناخية.

من خلال تقديم التقارير إلى مدير برنامج الطاقة والمناخ في الغرب الأوسط ، سيشرف مسؤول البرنامج الأول ويقيم محافظ منح كبيرة وشراكات مع جهات تمويل وسيطة ويتعاون بنشاط مع McKnight تأثير الاستثمار فريق و مجتمعات نابضة بالحياة والإنصاف فريق البرنامج.

علاقات الإبلاغ

مسؤول برنامج MC&E هو دور مساهم فردي. يقدم الموقف تقاريره إلى مدير برنامج MC&E.

المهام الأساسية

التنفيذ الاستراتيجي

  • لعب دورًا رائدًا في تصميم وتنفيذ واحد أو أكثر من مجالات استراتيجية برنامج إزالة الكربون (أي تحويل نظام الطاقة ، وكهربة النقل والمباني ، وعزل الكربون في أراضي العمل في مينيسوتا والغرب الأوسط الأعلى). وهذا يشمل تحديد الثغرات والفرص في المجال الناضج للمشاركة الخيرية وتنفيذ استراتيجية تقديم منح سريعة الاستجابة لنشر الموارد.
  • إدارة مجموعة من المنح التي تدعم تحويل نظام الطاقة ، وكهربة النقل والمباني ، وعزل الكربون في أراضي العمل في مينيسوتا والغرب الأوسط الأعلى.
  • تطوير والحفاظ على العلاقات مع المستفيدين الحاليين والآفاق الجديدة للتعلم من العمل الحالي ، واستكشاف الفرص الناشئة ، وبناء مفاهيم جديدة.
  • الانخراط بنشاط مع زملاء McKnight في فريق Impact Investing ولجنة استثمار المهام التابعة لمجلس الإدارة لتحديد وتحليل المهام والاستثمارات المتعلقة بالبرنامج التي تعزز أهداف البرنامج.

الشراكات الخارجية

  • إدارة الشراكات الرئيسية مع وسطاء التمويل والإشراف على الاستثمارات الجديدة والموسعة في هؤلاء الشركاء ومن خلالهم.
  • عقد اجتماعات والتعاون مع منظمات المناصرة (بما في ذلك ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، تلك التي تركز على العدالة المناخية ، وحماية البيئة ، والمشاركة الديمقراطية ، والطاقة النظيفة) ، والمؤسسات ، والمؤسسات الأكاديمية ، والهيئات التنظيمية ، وصانعي السياسات لدعم التعاون عبر القطاعات الذي يعزز أهداف البرنامج .
  • العمل كممثل للمؤسسة في مجتمعات التعلم والممارسة ، مما يساعد على تشكيل استجابة المجال لخفض الكربون ودعمه.

قيادة الفكر والدعوة

  • تمثيل المؤسسة وبرنامج MC&E للجمهور الخارجي وتوفير القيادة في جهودنا لتحقيق خفض انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري على مستوى الاقتصاد مع تعزيز الالتزام بالمساواة العرقية.
  • العمل كمورد في القضايا التقنية والسياسات المتعلقة بتحويل الطاقة. تتبع اتجاهات السوق والاتجاهات السياسية لتحديد الفرص عالية النفوذ للتدخل الخيري.
  • الوقوف كصوت موثوق به بشأن الترابط بين المناخ والعدالة العرقية والاقتصادية.

الكفاءات الأساسية

من المتوقع أن يعرض جميع القادة في McKnight السمات التالية:

  • العقلية الاستراتيجية
  • يتواصل بشكل فعال
  • يغرس الثقة
  • نتائج محركات الأقراص
  • يدير التعقيد
  • يبني الشبكات
  • يتعاون بشكل فعال
  • نماذج المرونة

المتطلبات الرئيسية

  • ما لا يقل عن عشر سنوات من الخبرة في قضايا المناخ والطاقة على المستوى المحلي أو الوطني ؛ تجربة العمل الخيري زائد.
  • درجة البكالوريوس أو الماجستير في مجال ذي صلة مرغوب فيه.
  • المنشورات والأوراق الرسمية والشهادات المتعلقة بمجال المناخ والطاقة.
  • الشغف والالتزام بحل أزمة المناخ ومعالجة المساواة العرقية في سياق الحلول المناخية. يجب أن يجلب تجربة معيشية أو التزامًا واضحًا بمعالجة المناخ والطاقة من خلال عدسة المساواة العرقية
  • يتم البحث عن قائد فضولي للغاية وذو مصداقية في مجال المناخ والطاقة والذي يجلب فهمًا متطورًا للمسارات الفنية والسياسية والاقتصادية لإزالة الكربون في الاقتصادات الصناعية في الغرب الأوسط الأعلى لهذا الدور.
  • خبرة عمل مباشرة في أنظمة الطاقة ، وكهربة النقل والمباني ، وعزل الكربون في أراضي العمل.
  • سجل حافل في بناء علاقات قوية مع الحلفاء وعبر خطوط الاختلاف. القدرة على تجاوز تعقيدات البيئات المتنوعة ومجموعات أصحاب المصلحة ، والسعي لفهم الأهداف المشتركة والتوجه نحوها من وجهات نظر متنافسة.
  • ذكاء عاطفي متطور للغاية وقدرة مثبتة على استخدام المهارات الشخصية والفطنة السياسية بطرق محترمة وتعاونية ودبلوماسية.
  • رؤية استراتيجية وتشغيلية واضحة ومهارة استثنائية في تجميع المعلومات وترجمة الرؤية إلى خطوات عمل على المدى الطويل والقصير.
  • مهارات اتصال شفهية وكتابية استثنائية ، بما في ذلك القدرة الواضحة على البحث والاستماع والتوليف وتحليل المعلومات وتكوين المستندات وتقديم البيانات بطريقة واضحة وموجزة للموظفين المناسبين ، بما في ذلك الإدارة العليا وموظفي البرنامج ومجلس الإدارة.
  • مهارات تحليلية استثنائية والقدرة على التأثير على التغيير في سياقات شديدة الدقة.
  • استباقية وتطلعية لمتابعة الاتجاهات وتوقع التغييرات والآثار المحتملة على المنظمة.

التعويضات والحوافز

توفر مؤسسة McKnight حزمة تعويضات تنافسية. تشمل المزايا التأمين الصحي وتأمين الأسنان والتأمين على الحياة والتأمين ضد العجز ؛ إجازة سخية مدفوعة الأجر ؛ المساهمة في خطة التقاعد ؛ برنامج الهدايا الخيرية المطابقة ؛ وبيئة عمل مرنة. هذه وظائف بدوام كامل معفاة ومقرها مينيابوليس. نطاق الراتب هو $138،600 إلى $146،700.

مؤسسة McKnight هي رب عمل متكافئ الفرص وتقدر بفخر التنوع. نحن نشجع المرشحين من جميع الخلفيات للتقدم.

للتقديم

يرجى تقديم سيرتك الذاتية وخطاب التغطية للتعبير عن اهتمامك بالمنصب والملاءمة للدور عبر بوابة المرشح GoodCitizen. يمكن توجيه الرسائل إلى سارة ماير.

سيتم إعطاء الأولوية للمتقدمين الذين يتقدمون بحلول 12 فبراير الساعة 5:00 مساءً بالتوقيت المركزي ، مع فتح الوظيفة حتى شغلها.

يتم إجراء هذا البحث بمساعدة فريق من مواطن جيد.

سارة ماير، نائب الرئيس
مباشر: 206-792-4221

مولي سميثمساعد البحث
مباشر: 206-462-6190

برنامج الغرب الأوسط للمناخ والطاقة

في عام 2019 ، وافق مجلس إدارة McKnight على بيان مهمة جديد ، جديد إطار استراتيجي، والعديد من التحولات في الاستثمارات البرامجية. وشملت هذه الجهود توسعا كبيرا في برنامج الغرب الأوسط للمناخ والطاقة (MC&E)، والتي تسير على المسار الصحيح للمضاعفة من مليون 1T2T16 في المنح السنوية في 2020 إلى $32 مليون بحلول عام 2022 ، مما يعكس مدى إلحاح أزمة المناخ وأولوية عالية للمجلس

هدف برنامج MC&E الموسع هو اتخاذ إجراءات جريئة بشأن أزمة المناخ عن طريق خفض تلوث الكربون بشكل كبير في الغرب الأوسط بحلول عام 2030. يتطلب تحقيق هذا الهدف الطموح بالسرعة والحجم اللازمين أيضًا أ ديمقراطية صحية، يرتكز على العدالة العرقية والاقتصادية ، حيث يتمتع جميع الناس بصوت وقوة لإحداث تغيير في القضايا التي تؤثر على حياتهم وسبل عيشهم. سيتابع فريق MC&E هذه الاستراتيجية في شراكة وثيقة مع مجتمعات McKnight النابضة بالحياة والمنصفة البرنامج الذي يدعم المجتمعات في بناء حركات قوية متعددة الأعراق من أجل التغيير.

يتصور برنامج MC&E اقتصاد الغرب الأوسط المزدهر المحايد للكربون من خلال تحويل نظام الطاقة من خلال الطاقة النظيفة ، وكهرباء النقل والمباني ، وعزل الكربون في الأراضي العاملة ، وتعزيز المشاركة الديمقراطية. يرتكز العمل على القيم الأساسية لـ McKnight ، ويشارك في النهج والسياسات والعمليات التي تعمل على تمكين أصوات المجتمع ، وتعبئة العمل الجماعي ، ومعالجة المساواة العرقية في سياق الحلول المناخية.

Position Summary

The McKnight Foundation seeks a Senior Program Officer to advance the goal of its Midwest Climate & Energy (MC&E) program to take bold action on the climate crisis by dramatically cutting carbon pollution in the Midwest by 2030. The new Senior Program Officer will play a lead role in advancing a portfolio and partnerships across an eight-state region focused on deep decarbonization strategies. This role presents an exciting opportunity for thought leadership around philanthropic interventions, informed by a deep commitment to racial equity, to support and accelerate climate innovations and strategies.

Reporting to the Midwest Climate & Energy Program Director, the Senior Program Officer will oversee and build significant grant portfolios and partnerships with intermediary funders and actively collaborate with McKnight’s Impact Investing team and Vibrant & Equitable Communities program team.

Reporting Relationships

The MC&E Senior Program Officer is an individual contributor role. The position reports to the MC&E Program Director.

Key Responsibilities

Strategic Implementation

  • Play a lead role in the design and implementation of one or more decarbonization program strategy areas (i.e., transforming the energy system, electrifying transportation and buildings, and sequestering carbon on working lands in Minnesota and the Upper Midwest). This includes identifying gaps and opportunities in the field ripe for philanthropic engagement and executing a responsive grantmaking strategy to deploy resources.
  • Manage a portfolio of grants that support transforming the energy system, electrifying transportation and buildings, and sequestering carbon on working lands in Minnesota and the Upper Midwest.
  • Develop and maintain relationships with existing grantees and new prospects to learn from current work, explore emerging opportunities, and build new concepts.
  • Actively engage with McKnight colleagues on the Impact Investing team and the board’s Mission Investment Committee to identify and analyze mission and program-related investments that advance program goals.

External Partnerships

  • Manage key partnerships with funding intermediaries and oversee new and expanded investments in and through these partners.
  • Convene and collaborate with advocacy organizations (including, but not limited to, those focused on climate justice, environmental protection, democratic participation, and clean energy), foundations, academic institutions, regulators, and policymakers to support cross-sector collaborations that reinforce program goals.
  • Serve as a representative of the Foundation in communities of learning and practice, helping to shape the field’s response to and support of carbon reduction.

Thought Leadership and Advocacy

  • Represent the Foundation and the MC&E program to external audiences and provide leadership in our efforts to achieve economy-wide greenhouse gas emission reductions while advancing a commitment to racial equity.
  • Serve as a resource on technical and policy issues relating to energy transformation. Track market and political trends to identify high-leverage opportunities for philanthropic intervention.
  • Stand as a trusted voice on the interdependence of climate and racial and economic justice.

Core Competencies

All leaders at McKnight are expected to display the following attributes:

  • Strategic mindset
  • Communicates effectively
  • Instills trust
  • Drives results
  • Manages complexity
  • Builds networks
  • Collaborates effectively
  • Models resiliency

Key Requirements

  • A minimum of ten years of experience in climate and energy issues on a local or national level; philanthropy experience a plus.
  • Bachelor’s or master’s degree in a related field is desirable.
  • Publications, formal papers, certifications related to the climate and energy field.
  • Passion for and commitment to solving the climate crisis and addressing racial equity within the context of climate solutions. Must bring lived experience or a demonstrated commitment to addressing climate and energy through a racial equity lens.
  • A deeply curious and credible thought leader in climate and energy who brings a sophisticated understanding of the technical, political and economic pathways to decarbonization in the industrialized economies of the Upper Midwest is sought for this role.
  • Direct work experience in energy systems, electrifying transportation and buildings, and sequestering carbon on working lands.
  • Demonstrated track record of building strong relationships with allies and across lines of difference. Capacity to navigate the complexity of diverse environments and stakeholder groups, seeking to understand and drive towards common goals from competing perspectives.
  • Highly developed emotional intelligence and demonstrated ability to use interpersonal skills and political acumen in respectful, collaborative, and diplomatic ways.
  • Clear strategic and operational vision and exceptional skill in synthesizing information and translating vision into action steps for the long and short term.
  • Exceptional oral and written communication skills, including the demonstrated ability to research, listen, synthesize, and analyze information, compose documents, and present data in a clear and concise manner to appropriate personnel, including top management, program staff, and board of directors.
  • Exceptional analytical skills and an ability to influence change in highly nuanced contexts.
  • Proactive and forward-looking to follow trends and anticipate changes and potential impacts to the organization.

Compensation and Benefits

The McKnight Foundation provides a competitive compensation package. Benefits include health, dental, life, and disability insurance; generous paid time off; contribution to a retirement plan; matching charitable gifts program; and a flexible work environment. These are full-time, exempt positions based in Minneapolis. The salary range is $138,600 to $146,700.

The McKnight Foundation is an equal opportunity employer and proudly values diversity. We encourage candidates of all backgrounds to apply.

To Apply

Please submit your resume and cover letter expressing your interest in the position and fit for the role via GoodCitizen’s Candidate Portal. Letters may be addressed to Sarah Meyer.

Applicants applying by February 12 at 5:00 pm central time will be given priority consideration, with the position open until filled.

This search is being conducted with assistance from a team from GoodCitizen.

Sarah Meyer, Vice President
Direct: 206-792-4221

Mollie Smith, Search Associate
Direct: 206-462-6190

Midwest Climate & Energy Program

In 2019, McKnight’s board of directors approved a new mission statement, a new Strategic Framework, and several shifts in programmatic investments. These efforts included a significant expansion of its Midwest Climate & Energy Program (MC&E), which is on track to double from $16 million in annual grants in 2020 to $32 million by 2022, reflecting the urgency of the climate crisis and a high priority for the board.

The expanded MC&E program goal is to take bold action on the climate crisis by dramatically cutting carbon pollution in the Midwest by 2030. Achieving this ambitious goal at the necessary speed and scale also requires a healthy democracy, grounded in racial and economic justice, one in which all people have the voice and power to bring about change to the issues affecting their lives and livelihoods. The MC&E team will pursue this strategy in close partnership with McKnight’s Vibrant & Equitable Communities program, which supports communities in building powerful multiracial movements for change.

The MC&E program envisions a thriving, carbon-neutral Midwestern economy by transforming the energy system through clean power, electrifying transportation and buildings, sequestering carbon on working lands, and strengthening democratic participation. Anchored in McKnight’s core values, the work engages approaches, policies, and processes that empower community voices, mobilize collective action, and address racial equity within the context of climate solutions.