执行摘要

麦克奈特基金会是一个国际公认的私人家庭基金会,总部设在明尼苏达州,它设想一个世界,承认每个人的尊严,艺术和科学的创造力共同保护我们唯一的地球。该基金会相信通过赋予人们和社区实现积极变革的能力,在应对不断对我们的社会,政治和自然系统施加影响的压力时,采取残酷现实而又极其乐观的态度。 McKnight最新更新 战略框架 理解其慈善事业的使命,价值观和方法,即使世界的活力需要永久的适应性和战略敏捷性。

向总裁汇报,财务和运营副总裁(VPFO)将在基金会历史的关键时刻加入一个充满激情且经验丰富的领导团队,以帮助实现其战略目标。 VPFO将建立并管理强大的集成系统和实践,包括财务,运营和相关合规,以支持McKnight的使命。这个人将成为战略思想家和经过验证的实施者,以实现组织,技术和服务的增强。 VPFO将领导并与负责财务,拨款和信息管理,接待和设施,信息技术以及人才和文化的经验丰富的董事密切合作,以不断调整McKnight的内部系统,以实现影响力,敏捷性和健全的管理。与内部和外部利益相关者合作的领导经验和情商至关重要,同时还具有激励和管理高绩效团队的能力。与McKnight的高级领导团队一起,VPFO将有助于推进基金会的承诺 多元化,公平和包容 并培养好奇心,创新精神,卓越品质和所有员工成长和发展的目标。 VPFO将体现McKnight的使命和价值观,将成为内部和外部基金会的思想和积极的领导者和大使。

此搜索正在进行中 NPAG。应用说明可以在本页底部找到。

VPFO领导机会

VPFO将与总裁和高级领导团队合作,以符合其使命和价值观的方式监督和管理McKnight的财务,运营和合规职能。这个人将在发展和维护高度信任,绩效和问责的文化方面发挥重要作用,这种文化与我们对多元化,公平和包容的承诺相一致。在财务,助学金和信息管理,信息技术,接待和设施以及人才和文化领导的支持下,VPFO可以期待以下领导机会:

实施新的战略方向和优先事项

  • 通过组织范围的领导透镜带来复杂的理解,将战略方向和优先事项转化为组织能力;
  • 评估企业范围内的风险并设定风险缓解参数;确定财务,运营和合规方面的差距,并通过一流的实践填补这些空白,结合基金会的内部智慧,支持任务成就;
  • 建立并始终如一地沟通组织优先事项,作为McKnight高级领导团队的一部分,确保思路,问题解决和工作执行的一致性和交叉整合;
  • 为持续改进组织系统,结构,政策和人才提供见解和领导,以实现最高水平的计划质量和有效性;

整合和加强财务,运营和合规职能

  • 确保建立有效和高效的系统,流程和实践,以实现基金会使命的目标和目标;制定高质量,具有成本效益的维护,开发和实施服务,系统和工具的计划,以支持基金会的有效赠款,法律和政策合规以及整体组织效力;
  • 指导与财务总监合作,财务监督的所有方面,包括计划和预算,会计,审计,公司备案和合规。提供财务系统和工具,用于生成实时预测,支持合理的业务决策,提供慈善支持,以及建立从预算角度审查计划的能力;
  • 维护主题专业知识,建议并确保在全公司范围内遵守广泛的公司,员工,监管和合规事宜;促进培训,流程,程序和控制,以根据需要降低合规风险;
  • 监督财务,接待和设施,赠款和信息管理,信息技术,人才和文化以及多样性,公平和包容性举措的整合和运作;
  • 提供一般合同监督,并根据需要协调外部法律顾问和支持,以满足基金会的需求;
  • 参加所有董事会会议,并作为董事会财务和审计委员会的主要联络人。

管理文化与组织变革管理

  • 通过领导和支持一种文化模式,让所有团队成员都感到受到重视并被认为对推进基金会的使命和目标至关重要,并鼓励他们专业发展;
  • 与总裁和高级领导团队合作,发挥高度可见的领导作用,提供包容性的方法,以保持麦克奈特的协作和透明文化;
  • 制定短期和长期目标,制定战略和计划,促进变革管理活动,以确保组织与McKnight的战略框架保持一致;
  • 培养个人和团队,管理工作分配,提供绩效反馈和专业发展,并支持积极的团队动态;
  • 显示技能,敏感度和个人信心,以挖掘团队中每个成员为任务带来的力量。

理想候选人的资格

理想的候选人将致力于麦克奈特的使命,并了解慈善事业在推动社会变革中所发挥的关键作用。虽然没有人会体现下面列举的所有品质,但理想的候选人将拥有以下许多专业和个人能力,属性和经验:

  • 在同样复杂的组织中,至少有10年的财务,运营和合规职能的战略领导和职业发展;
  • 在提供优质服务,组织改进以及战略,组织和预算管理方面的卓越表现以及对财务,物理和人力资源的出色管理方面表现出色;
  • 展示的工作体现了对组织卓越和效率的承诺,仆人式领导,协作管理和有效团队合作,以及促进公平,多元化和包容性;
  • 明确战略和运营愿景以及综合信息和将愿景转化为长期和短期行动步骤的卓越技能;
  • 通过包容性的规划,解决问题和决策方法,在确定优先事项,驾驭变革管理以及提出实现预期成果的新方法方面表现出足够的资源;
  • 综合经验,成熟度和灵活性,与广泛的利益相关者进行互动,包括董事会,高级部门负责人和整个组织的员工;
  • 卓越的口头和书面沟通技巧,包括已证明的研究,综合和分析信息的能力,撰写文件,并以清晰简洁的方式向适当的人员,包括高层管理人员,项目人员和董事会提供数据;
  • 高度发达的促进,辅导和参与技能;通过管理多元化的团队动力并实现共同的预期成果来提
  • 高度发达的情商,表现出以尊重,协作和外交的方式运用人际交往能力和政治智慧的能力;
  • 一个强大,直观的沟通者,善于通过影响力进行管理;展示了跨越利益相关方团体的能力;
  • 对任务驱动部门的热情以及慈善事业在解决一些社会最具挑战性的问题方面的作用;
  • 拥有非营利组织,基金会以及直接与私人基金会董事会合作的经验。

申请

点击这里 申请开业。

此搜索是在Linh Nguyen,Tamar Datan,Nureen Das和Javier Garcia的帮助下进行的。 NPAG。由于此次搜索的速度,强烈建议候选人尽快申请。所有询问都应该针对 MF-VPFO@nonprofitprofessionals.com

麦克奈特基金会是一个机会平等的雇主,自豪地重视多元化。我们鼓励所有背景的候选人申请。

发表于2019年7月。

Executive Summary

The McKnight Foundation, an internationally recognized private family foundation based in Minnesota, envisions a world that recognizes the dignity of every human being, where the creativity of the arts and sciences come together to protect our one and only earth. The Foundation believes in taking a brutally realistic yet fiercely optimistic outlook in addressing the pressures that continually act on our social, political, and natural systems, through empowering people and communities to make positive change happen. McKnight’s newly updated Strategic Framework grounds its mission, values, and approach to philanthropy, even as the dynamism of the world requires perpetual adaptability and strategic agility.

Reporting to the President, the Vice President of Finance and Operations (VPFO) will join a passionate and highly experienced leadership team at a critical moment in the Foundation’s history to help achieve its strategic goals. The VPFO will build and steward strong, integrated systems and practices encompassing finance, operations and relevant compliance in support of McKnight’s mission. This person will be a strategic thinker and proven implementer in bringing about organizational, technical, and service enhancements. The VPFO will lead and work closely with a group of seasoned directors responsible for finance, grants and information management, reception and facilities, information technology, and talent and culture to continually adapt McKnight’s internal systems for impact, agility, and sound stewardship. Leadership experience and emotional intelligence in collaborating with internal and external stakeholders are crucial along with the ability to inspire and manage high-performing teams. Along with McKnight’s Senior Leadership Team, the VPFO will help to advance the Foundation’s commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and foster a culture of curiosity, innovation, excellence, and purpose in which all staff grow and thrive. Reflecting McKnight’s mission and values, the VPFO will serve as a thoughtful and active leader and ambassador for the Foundation, internally and externally.

This search is being conducted by NPAG. Application instructions can be found at the bottom of this page.

Opportunities for Leadership for the VPFO

The VPFO will work with the President and Senior Leadership Team to oversee and steward McKnight’s financial, operational, and compliance functions in a manner consistent with its mission and values. This person will have a significant role in developing and maintaining a culture of high trust, performance, and accountability aligned with our commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Supported by the Directors of Finance, Grants and Information Management, Information Technology, Reception and Facilities, and Talent and Culture, the VPFO can expect to engage with the following opportunities for leadership:

Operationalizing New Strategic Directions and Priorities

  • Bring a sophisticated understanding with an organization-wide leadership lens to translate strategic directions and priorities into organizational capacity;
  • Assess enterprise-wide risks and set parameters for risk mitigation; identify financial, operational, and compliance gaps and fill those gaps with best-in-class practices, combined with the Foundation’s internal wisdom, to support mission achievement;
  • Establish and consistently communicate organizational priorities as part of McKnight’s Senior Leadership Team and ensure alignment and cross-cutting integration of ideas, problem solving, and execution of work;
  • Provide insights and leadership to the ongoing improvement of organizational systems, structures, policies, and talent to enable the highest level of programmatic quality and effectiveness;

Integrating and Strengthening Financial, Operational and Compliance Functions

  • Ensure that efficient and effective systems, processes, and practices are in place to accomplish the goals and objectives of the Foundation’s mission; develop plans for high-quality, cost-effective maintenance, development and implementation of services, systems and tools to support effective grant making, legal and policy compliance, and overall organizational effectiveness of the Foundation;
  • Guide, in partnership with the Director of Finance, all aspects of financial oversight including planning and budgeting, accounting, audit, corporate filing, and compliance. Provide financial systems and tools for generating real-time forecasts, supporting sound business decisions, providing philanthropic support, and building capacity to review programs from a budgeting perspective;
  • Maintain subject matter expertise of, advise, and ensure foundation-wide compliance on a broad range of corporate, employee, regulatory and compliance matters; promote training, processes, procedures, and controls to mitigate compliance risk as needed;
  • Oversee the integration and functioning of Finance, Reception and Facilities, Grants and Information Management, Information Technology, Talent and Culture, and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion initiatives;
  • Provide general contractual oversight and coordinate external legal counsel and support as required to address the Foundation’s needs;
  • Participate in all Board meetings and serve as the main liaison to the Board’s Finance and Audit Committees.

Stewarding Culture and Organizational Change Management

  • Model through leadership and support a culture in which all team members feel valued and recognized as vital to advancing the Foundation’s mission and goals, and are encouraged to grow professionally;
  • In partnership with the President and Senior Leadership Team, take a highly visible leadership role to offer an inclusive approach to preserving the collaborative and transparent culture of McKnight;
  • Establish short- and long-term goals, develop strategies and plans, and facilitate change management activities to ensure organizational alignment with McKnight’s strategic framework;
  • Develop individuals and teams, manage work allocation, provide performance feedback and professional development, and support positive team dynamics;
  • Display the skills, sensitivity, and personal confidence to tap into the power that each member of the team brings to the mission.

Qualifications of the Ideal Candidate

The ideal candidate will be deeply committed to McKnight’s mission and understand the critical role that philanthropy plays in advancing social change. While no one person will embody all the qualities enumerated below, the ideal candidate will possess many of the following professional and personal abilities, attributes, and experiences:

  • A minimum of 10 years of strategic leadership and career growth in finance, operational and compliance functions at a similarly complex organization;
  • Demonstrated track record of delivering quality services, organizational improvements, and excellence in strategic, organizational, and budget management along with outstanding stewardship of financial, physical, and human resources;
  • Demonstrated body of work that reflects a commitment to organizational excellence and efficiency, servant leadership, management of collaboration and effective teamwork, and promotion of equity, diversity and inclusion;
  • Clear strategic and operational vision and exceptional skill in synthesizing information and translating vision into action steps for the long and short term;
  • Demonstrated resourcefulness in setting priorities, navigating change management, and proposing new ways of achieving desired outcomes with inclusive approaches to planning, problem solving, and decision making;
  • Combined experience, maturity level, and flexibility to interact with a broad set of stakeholders, including the Board of Directors, senior level department heads, and staff across the organization;
  • Exceptional oral and written communication skills including the demonstrated ability to research, synthesize, and analyze information, compose documents, and present data in a clear and concise manner to appropriate personnel, including top management, program staff, and Board of Directors;
  • Highly developed facilitation, coaching, and engagement skills; comfort with managing diverse group dynamics and leading toward common desired outcomes;
  • Highly developed emotional intelligence and demonstrated ability to use interpersonal skills and political acumen in respectful, collaborative, and diplomatic ways;
  • A strong, intuitive communicator, skillful at managing through influence; demonstrated ability to connect and inspire across stakeholder groups;
  • Passion for the mission-driven sector and the role philanthropy can have in addressing some of society’s most challenging problems;
  • Experience with nonprofits, foundations, and working directly with a private foundation Board of Directors a plus.

To Apply

Click here to apply for the opening.

This search is being conducted with assistance from Linh Nguyen, Tamar Datan, Nureen Das, and Javier Garcia of NPAG. Due to the pace of this search, candidates are strongly encouraged to apply as soon as possible. All inquiries should be directed to MF-VPFO@nonprofitprofessionals.com

The McKnight Foundation is an equal opportunity employer and proudly values diversity. We encourage candidates of all backgrounds to apply.

Posted July 2019.