Skip to content
5 min read

2023 Artist & Culture Bearer Fellowship Award Announcements

Our partner organizations announce the 2023 McKnight Artist & Culture Bearer Fellowship winners on a rolling basis. We post them here shortly after they become available. Then, after all the winners have been announced, we will update this list of current fellows.

ACF logo

2023 McKnight Composer Fellows and McKnight Visiting Composers Announced

McKnight Fellowships for Composers – Mychal “MMYYKK” FisherdeVon Russell GrayLaAerial, and Troy Rogers (aka Robot Rickshaw); McKnight Visiting Composer Residency awardees – Yoon-Ji Lee and Steve Parker

Announcing the 2023 McKnight Media Artist Fellows

Fellows: Raven Johnson, Catherine Licata, Jenny Lion, and Benjamin Percy

Congratulations to the 2023 McKnight Culture Bearer Fellows

Fellows: Ramona Kitto Stately, Nothando and Vusumuzi Zulu, Titilayo Bediako, Ginga da Bahia (Irenio Dos Santos)

Pillsbury House Theatre

Announcing the 2023 McKnight Community-Engaged Artist Fellows

Fellows: Janice Bad Moccasin and Moira Villiard

Highpoint Center for Printmaking Logo

2023 McKnight Printmaking Fellows

Fellows: Natasha Pestich and Carolyn Swiszcz

Announcing Our 2023 McKnight Book Artist Fellows

Fellows: Brien Beidler and Todd Thyberg

2023 McKnight Fiber Artist Fellows

Fellows: Marjorie Fedyszyn and Delina White

Six Minnesota dance artists selected for 2023 McKnight Fellowships for Choreographers and Dancers

Choreographer Fellows: Joe Chvala, Rita Mustaphi, Deneane Richburg

Dancer Fellows: Demetrius McClendon, Sam Aros-Mitchell, Yuki Tokuda

McKnight Fellows in Playwriting, McKnight National Residency & Commission Recipient Announced

Fellows: Gethsemane Herron and Rachel Jendrzejewski; the McKnight National Residency & Commission recipient is Aya Ogawa

Playwrights’ Center & McKnight Foundation Announce McKnight Theater Artists

Fellows: D J Gramann II, Darrick Mosley, and Karin Olson


McKnight Visual Artist Fellowship

Fellows: Tia-Simone Gardner, Kaamil A. Haider, Keren Kroul, Sieng Lee, Mark Ostapchuk, and Lindsay Rhyner

McKnight Musician Fellowship Grants Four of the State’s Top Musicians with $25,000 Award

Fellows: Shaiwna Adams aka The Lioness, Rascal Miles, Evelyn Speers aka EVV, and Ann DuHamel

The Loft Literary Center Announces Recipients of the 2023 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers

Fellows: children’s writer Art Coulson and creative prose writers Naomi Cohn, Gen Del Raye, Hilal Isler, and Kao Kalia Yang

Northern Clay Center Logo

Announcing the Recipients of the 2023 McKnight Artist Fellowships and Residencies for Ceramic Artists

Fellows: Anna Metcalfe and Chotsani Elaine Dean

McKnight Artist Residency for Ceramic Artists: Larry Buller (New York, NY), Karima Duchamp (Lake Dallas, TX), Joon Hee Kim (Bakersville, NC), and Ellen Kleckner (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)

Topic: Arts & Culture, The McKnight Artist Fellowships

July 2023

English (Canada)