انضمت Arleta Little إلى مؤسسة McKnight Foundation في عام 2013 وتعمل كمسؤول برامج في برنامج Arts ومديرة لبرنامج McKnight Artist Fellowships. خلال فترة ولايتها ، بنت ليتل مجتمعًا مع شركاء برنامج المنح الدراسية في McKnight وحددت الأساس المنطقي القائم على البحث لزيادة دعم الزمالة للبرنامج للفنانين العاملين.

مع خلفية في مجال البحوث الاجتماعية ، تعاونت ليتل مع مركز الشؤون الحضرية والريفية بجامعة مينيسوتا لإكمال الدراسة نعم ولا تقرير: محادثات حول الازدهار مع فنانين من الألوان في المدن التوأم. عمل ليتل كرئيس مشارك للمجموعة الاستشارية المجتمعية التي أنشأت قسم الفنون والثقافة في ولاية مينيسوتا كومباس ، وهو مشروع المؤشرات الاجتماعية للولاية الذي يقيس التقدم المحرز في المؤشرات الرئيسية لنوعية الحياة. عملت أيضًا كرئيس مشارك لفريق عمل مشروع البيانات الثقافية في ولاية مينيسوتا ، وكانت عضوًا مؤسسًا في فريق Creative Minnesota ، حيث أنشأ التقرير الذي يصدر كل سنتين عن صحة وتأثير الفنانين والعاملين المبدعين والمنظمات غير الربحية للثقافة والفنون في مينيسوتا .

بصفتها عضوًا في مجلس إدارة Grantmakers in the Arts ، تعمل Little كحلقة اتصال McKnight بشبكة حيوية من الممولين للفنون الوطنية. تعمل ليتل أيضًا في مجلس إدارة مؤسسة هيدووترز للعدالة وكعضو في المجلس الاستشاري لصندوق الهبات المجتمعية لعموم سانت بول التابع لمؤسسة سانت بول. كعضو نشط في الجمعية التعاونية لممثلي المساواة العرقية في مينيسوتا وعضو في المجموعة الاستشارية للإنصاف والشمول في McKnight ، تعمل ليتل كبطل محلي ووطني لزيادة الإنصاف والعدالة في الأعمال الخيرية.

قبل العمل في الأعمال الخيرية ، عملت ليتل كمديرة تنفيذية لمؤسسة Givens للأدب الأمريكي الإفريقي وعملت لأكثر من 15 عامًا كمستشارة في التطوير التنظيمي توفر التخطيط الاستراتيجي وتقييم البرامج ومنح خدمات الكتابة للمنظمات في ولاية مينيسوتا. وهي أيضًا متطوعة في فيلق السلام العائد ، وزميل معهد القيادة المجتمعية الإبداعية ، وشاعرة منشورة.

Arleta Little joined the McKnight Foundation in 2013 and serves as a program officer in the Arts program and as director of the McKnight Artist Fellowships Program. In her tenure, Little has built community with McKnight’s fellowships program partners and defined a research-based rationale for increasing the program’s fellowship support for working artists.

With a background in social research, Little collaborated with the University of Minnesota’s Center for Urban and Rural Affairs to complete the Yes and No Report: Conversations About Thriving with Artists of Color in the Twin Cities. Little served as co-chair of the community advisory group that created the Arts & Culture section of Minnesota Compass, the state’s social indicators project measuring progress on key indicators for quality of life. She also served as the co-chair of the Minnesota Cultural Data Project Task Force and was a founding member of the Creative Minnesota team, establishing the biennial report on the health and impact of artists, creative workers, and nonprofit arts and culture organizations in Minnesota.

As a board member for Grantmakers in the Arts, Little serves as McKnight’s liaison to a vital network of national arts funders. Little also serves on the board of Headwaters Foundation for Justice and as an Advisory Board member for the St. Paul Foundation’s Pan-African Community Endowment fund. As an active member of the Racial Equity Funders Collaborative in Minnesota and a member of McKnight’s Diversity Equity and Inclusion Advisory Group, Little serves as a local and national champion for increasing equity and justice in philanthropy

Prior to working in philanthropy, Little served as the executive director of the Givens Foundation for African American Literature and worked for over 15 years as an organizational development consultant providing strategic planning, program evaluation, and grant writing services to organizations in Minnesota. She is also a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer, a Creative Community Leadership Institute fellow, and a published poet.