David Nicholson joined McKnight in September 2020 as Communautés dynamiques et équitables (V&EC) program director. The V&EC program aims to construire un avenir dynamique pour tous les Minnesotans avec un pouvoir, une prospérité et une participation partagés.

Au cours des trois dernières décennies, Nicholson s'est efforcé de créer un changement systémique grâce au leadership communautaire et à la création de mouvements populaires. Il a occupé des postes de direction dans un certain nombre de milieux philanthropiques à but non lucratif et collaboratifs.

As executive director for Fondation Headwaters pour la justice, Minnesota’s premier social justice community foundation, he focused on building people-powered democracy and finding points of intersection between different groups and interests. He introduced the Projet de don dans le Minnesota, un modèle philanthropique innovant qui rassemble des groupes de personnes multiraciales et interclasses pour participer à l'octroi de subventions axées sur la communauté.

Plus tôt dans sa carrière, Nicholson a été directeur des programmes à la Centre Ain Dah Yung (notre maison), a culture-based resource center serving Native families and youth. He also spent five years crafting policies in state government as director of the Fonds d'affectation spéciale pour les enfants, un programme qui s'associe aux communautés locales pour mettre fin à la maltraitance des enfants.

Nicholson has served on nonprofit boards for more than 20 years, 10 of them in board leadership roles. He has also served on national philanthropic boards, most notably for the former Échange de financement, a national collaborative of 17 social justice foundations.

David Nicholson joined McKnight in September 2020 as Vibrant & Equitable Communities (V&EC) program director. The V&EC program aims to build a vibrant future for all Minnesotans with shared power, prosperity, and participation.

Over the past three decades, Nicholson has worked to create systemic change through community leadership and grassroots movement building. He has served in leadership roles in a number of nonprofit and collaborative philanthropy settings.

As executive director for Headwaters Foundation for Justice, Minnesota’s premier social justice community foundation, he focused on building people-powered democracy and finding points of intersection between different groups and interests. He introduced the Giving Project into Minnesota, an innovative philanthropic model that brings multiracial, cross-class groups of people together to participate in community-centered grantmaking.

Earlier in his career, Nicholson served as director of programs at the Ain Dah Yung (Our Home) Center, a culture-based resource center serving Native families and youth. He also spent five years crafting policies in state government as director of the Children’s Trust Fund, a program that partners with local communities to end child abuse.

Nicholson has served on nonprofit boards for more than 20 years, 10 of them in board leadership roles. He has also served on national philanthropic boards, most notably for the former Funding Exchange, a national collaborative of 17 social justice foundations.