انضم ديفيد نيكلسون إلى McKnight في سبتمبر 2020 بصفته مجتمعات نابضة بالحياة والإنصاف (V&EC) مدير برنامج. يهدف برنامج V&EC إلى بناء مستقبل نابض بالحياة لجميع سكان ولاية مينيسوتا مع القوة المشتركة والازدهار والمشاركة.

على مدى العقود الثلاثة الماضية ، عمل نيكلسون على إحداث تغيير نظامي من خلال القيادة المجتمعية وبناء الحركة الشعبية. وقد شغل مناصب قيادية في عدد من الأماكن الخيرية والتعاونية غير الربحية.

كمدير تنفيذي لـ مؤسسة منابع للعدالة، مؤسسة مجتمع العدالة الاجتماعية الأولى في مينيسوتا ، ركز على بناء الديمقراطية التي يقودها الناس وإيجاد نقاط التقاطع بين المجموعات والمصالح المختلفة. قدم مشروع العطاء في ولاية مينيسوتا ، وهو نموذج خيري مبتكر يجمع بين مجموعات متعددة الأعراق ومتعددة الطبقات من الناس للمشاركة في تقديم المنح التي تركز على المجتمع.

في وقت سابق من حياته المهنية ، شغل نيكولسون منصب مدير البرامج في مركز عين داه يونغ، مركز موارد ثقافي يخدم العائلات والشباب الأصليين. كما أمضى خمس سنوات في صياغة السياسات في حكومة الولاية كمدير لـ الصندوق الاستئماني للأطفالوهو برنامج يتعاون مع المجتمعات المحلية لإنهاء الإساءة للأطفال.

عمل نيكولسون في مجالس إدارة غير ربحية لأكثر من 20 عامًا ، 10 منهم في مناصب قيادية في مجلس الإدارة. كما عمل أيضًا في المجالس الخيرية الوطنية ، وعلى الأخص في المجالس الخيرية تبادل التمويل، تعاونية وطنية من 17 مؤسسة للعدالة الاجتماعية.

David Nicholson joined McKnight in September 2020 as Vibrant & Equitable Communities (V&EC) program director. The V&EC program aims to build a vibrant future for all Minnesotans with shared power, prosperity, and participation.

Over the past three decades, Nicholson has worked to create systemic change through community leadership and grassroots movement building. He has served in leadership roles in a number of nonprofit and collaborative philanthropy settings.

As executive director for Headwaters Foundation for Justice, Minnesota’s premier social justice community foundation, he focused on building people-powered democracy and finding points of intersection between different groups and interests. He introduced the Giving Project into Minnesota, an innovative philanthropic model that brings multiracial, cross-class groups of people together to participate in community-centered grantmaking.

Earlier in his career, Nicholson served as director of programs at the Ain Dah Yung (Our Home) Center, a culture-based resource center serving Native families and youth. He also spent five years crafting policies in state government as director of the Children’s Trust Fund, a program that partners with local communities to end child abuse.

Nicholson has served on nonprofit boards for more than 20 years, 10 of them in board leadership roles. He has also served on national philanthropic boards, most notably for the former Funding Exchange, a national collaborative of 17 social justice foundations.