作为活力与公平社区和中西部气候与能源项目的项目官员,多米尼克·麦克奎里 (Dominic McQuerry) 负责监督和开发麦克奈特气候与公平目标交叉点的创新赠款组合,重点是加强民主参与和公民参与。 McQuerry 是一名政策和社区参与专家,热衷于支持人们的生活和生计,指导和支持明尼苏达州在住房、医疗保健、儿童保育等方面的强大联盟。 McQuerry 将制定并实施一项基于明尼苏达州的战略,以加强那些受到不公正影响的人的运动效率和力量。

McQuerry 从 Amherst H. Wilder 基金会来到 McKnight,在那里他指导公共政策和社区关系工作,在州议会大厦领导成功的联盟。在怀尔德基金会,麦奎里致力于打破决策过程中将人和社区与流程分开的孤岛——刺激集体行动并为州议会大厦带来新的声音。 McQuerry 与众多合作伙伴一起为健康、人类服务和住房政策变化而战,为明尼苏达州赢得了重大胜利。值得注意的是,McQuerry 与来自 Saint Paul Promise Neighborhood 和 Neighborhoods for All 联盟的家长合作,通过立法建立家庭作业从家开始,这是一项针对无家可归和流动性高的学龄儿童家庭的租赁援助计划。他还管理了社区公平计划,专注于深化 BIOC 社区在立法过程中的参与。

从 2019 年到 2020 年,McQuerry 担任州长 Tim Walz 和副州长 Peggy Flanagan 的政策顾问,涉及资本投资、住房、无家可归、退伍军人事务和宽带发展。在此职位上,他帮助指导州长办公室的战略和立法,为州机构专员和工作人员制定政策和预算举措提供建议,与立法者进行谈判,并与利益相关者密切合作。在他任职期间,明尼苏达州通过了州历史上最大的债券法案,其中包括 $3000 万,专门用于由 BIPOC 明尼苏达州领导和服务的非营利组织的项目。

McQuerry 在大都会州立大学的宣传和政治领导力硕士课程中作为社区教员教授关于非营利宣传、组织和游说的课程。他拥有明尼苏达大学公共政策硕士学位和政治学学士学位,并于 2017 年获得汉弗莱学校学生领导奖,以表彰他通过领导和服务为共同利益做出的贡献。

As a program officer with the Vibrant & Equitable Communities and Midwest Climate & Energy programs, Dominic McQuerry oversees and develops innovative grant portfolios at the intersection of McKnight’s climate and equity goals with an emphasis on strengthening democratic participation and civic engagement. McQuerry is a policy and community engagement professional with a passion for supporting people’s lives and livelihoods, guiding and supporting powerful coalitions in Minnesota on housing, healthcare, child care, and more. McQuerry will develop and implement a Minnesota-based strategy to strengthen the movement efficacy and power of those affected by injustice.

McQuerry came to McKnight from Amherst H. Wilder Foundation, where he directed public policy and community relations work, leading successful coalitions at the state Capitol. At Wilder Foundation, McQuerry worked to break down the silos in policymaking that separate people and communities from the process—spurring collective action and bringing new voices to the state Capitol. Together with a multitude of partners, McQuerry fought for health, human services, and housing policy changes, securing major wins for Minnesotans. Notably, McQuerry partnered with parents from the Saint Paul Promise Neighborhood and Neighborhoods for All coalitions to pass legislation to establish Homework Starts with Home, a rental assistance program for homeless and highly mobile families with school-aged children. He also managed the Community Equity Program, where he focused on deepening the engagement of BIPOC communities in the legislative process.

From 2019 to 2020, McQuerry served as a policy advisor to Governor Tim Walz and Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan on capital investment, housing, homelessness, veterans’ affairs, and broadband development. In this role, he helped guide strategy and legislation for the governor’s office, advised state agency commissioners and staff on the development of policy and budget initiatives, negotiated with legislators, and worked closely with stakeholders. During his tenure, Minnesota passed the largest bonding bill in state history, including $30 million specifically for projects for nonprofit organizations led by and serving BIPOC Minnesotans.

McQuerry teaches a course on nonprofit advocacy, organizing, and lobbying as a community faculty member in Metropolitan State University’s Masters of Advocacy and Political Leadership program. He holds a master’s degree in public policy and a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of Minnesota, and he received a Humphrey School Student Leadership Award in 2017 for his contributions to the common good through leadership and service.