Kara Inae Carlisle kam 2017 als Vizepräsidentin für Programme zu McKnight. In dieser Rolle hat sie eine Transformation der Programmstrategie und des Lernens geleitet, indem sie auf den sich schnell verändernden Kontext für soziale Veränderungen reagiert und sichergestellt hat, dass eine Analyse von Rasse, Gerechtigkeit und Demokratie allen Programmstrategien zugrunde liegt. Unter ihrer Leitung spiegeln die Programme der Foundation heute mehr Fokus und Integration sowie ein leidenschaftliches Engagement für Gerechtigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit wider.

Zuvor war Carlisle acht Jahre lang bei der WK Kellogg Foundation in Battle Creek, Michigan, tätig, zuletzt als Direktor der Programme in New Mexico. Sie war auch Mitglied des Civic and Philanthropic Engagement-Teams von Kellogg und entwickelte das erste Handbuch, um dessen Ansatz für die ortsbezogene Zuschussvergabe zu informieren.

Zu Beginn ihrer Karriere hatte Carlisle verschiedene Positionen in Los Angeles inne, darunter stellvertretende Direktorin am Zócalo Public Square und Direktorin für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Direktorin des Streitbeilegungszentrums 4.29 bei der Korean American Coalition. Sie war Präsidentin der Human Relations Commission der Stadt Los Angeles und Vorsitzende des Empowerment Congress. Sie war Vorstandsmitglied der National Association for Community Mediation in Washington, DC, und kürzlich Grantmaker for Effective Organizations' Change Leaders in Philanthropy Fellow.

Als aktuelles Vorstandsmitglied von Living Cities und dem National Center for Family Philanthropy ist Carlisle auch stellvertretende Vorstandsvorsitzende und Sekretärin für Philanthropy for Active Civic Engagement. Sie ist Mitglied des Beirats des Center for Effective Philanthropy und wurde von Gouverneur Walz in den Executive Council for the Young Women's Initiatives of Minnesota berufen.

Carlisle hat einen MBA der Kellogg School of Management der Northwestern University und einen MDiv in Urban Studies and Education der Claremont School of Theology.

Porträtfoto herunterladen

Kara Inae Carlisle joined McKnight in 2017 as vice president of programs. In that role, she has led a transformation of program strategy and learning—responding to the fast-shifting context for social change, and ensuring that an analysis of race, equity, and democracy underlies all program strategies. With her leadership, Foundation’s programs today reflect more focus and integration, and a passionate commitment to equity and sustainability.

Previously, Carlisle spent eight years at the W. K. Kellogg Foundation in Battle Creek, Michigan, most recently as director of New Mexico programs. She also served on Kellogg’s Civic and Philanthropic Engagement team, developing the first manual to inform its approach to place-based grantmaking.

Earlier in her career, Carlisle held various positions in Los Angeles, including associate director at Zócalo Public Square, and director of public relations and director of the 4.29 dispute resolution center at the Korean American Coalition. She served as president of the City of Los Angeles Human Relations Commission and as chair of the Empowerment Congress. She was a board member of the National Association for Community Mediation in Washington, DC, and a recent Grantmaker for Effective Organizations’ Change Leaders in Philanthropy Fellow.

A current board member of both Living Cities and the National Center for Family Philanthropy, Carlisle is also the board vice chair and secretary for Philanthropy for Active Civic Engagement. She serves on the Center for Effective Philanthropy’s Advisory Board, and as an appointee by Governor Walz to the Executive Council for the Young Women’s Initiatives of Minnesota.

Carlisle holds an MBA from Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management and an MDiv in urban studies and education from Claremont School of Theology.

Download Portrait Photo