تونيا ألين هي قائدة ووكيلة تغيير لديها شغف للمشاركة في خلق عالم عادل ومستدام. في عام 2021 ، أصبحت رئيسة لمؤسسة McKnight ، وهي مؤسسة عائلية مقرها مينيسوتا تعمل على تحقيق مستقبل أكثر عدلاً وإبداعًا ووفرة حيث يزدهر الناس والكوكب. تترأس تونيا أغلبية من النساء ، وفريق القيادة العليا ذو الأغلبية من الأشخاص الملونين وفريق متنوع من حوالي 60.

تمنح المؤسسة ما يقرب من $120 مليون سنويًا لدعم المجتمعات العادلة ، واقتصاد الطاقة النظيفة ، وأنظمة الغذاء العالمية ، والفنانين وحاملي الثقافة ، وأبحاث علم الأعصاب المبتكرة. في عامها الأول في McKnight ، دافعت تونيا عن استخدام استثمارات المؤسسة لتحقيق أهداف صافية صفرية ، ورفعت صوتنا وقيادتنا لإعادة بناء أحياء المدن التوأم والشركات الصغيرة التي تأثرت بـ Covid-19 والاضطرابات المدنية لعام 2020.

عامل التغيير الديناميكي. قادت تونيا الشراكات الخيرية والتجارية والحكومية والمجتمعية الناجحة التي تحفز التفكير الجديد ، وتختبر مناهج جديدة ، وتطور السياسة العامة. طوال حياتها المهنية التي استمرت 25 عامًا ، كانت تعمل في بناء الجسور ودبلوماسية مدنية. تم الإشادة بتونيا لنهجها التعاوني القائم على النتائج والمؤثر للغاية من قبل تاريخ العمل الخيري ("خمسة مبتكرين غير ربحيين يجب متابعتهم") ، The Funders Network (جائزة Nicholas P. Bollman) ، أخبار ديترويت (ميشيغان العام) ، و توين سيتيز بيزنس ("TCB 100: أشخاص يجب معرفتهم في عام 2022").

زعيم خيري ومدني. تترأس تونيا مجلس المؤسسات وتعمل في العديد من المجالس الأخرى في ولاية مينيسوتا ، بما في ذلك مؤسسة GHR ، ومنظمة Women Presidents Minnesota ، و MSP الكبرى. وهي رئيسة مشاركة لتحالف التنفيذيين للفتيان والرجال الملونين. قبل انضمامها إلى McKnight ، عملت تونيا كرئيس ومدير تنفيذي لمؤسسة سكيلمان ، ومسؤولة برامج في مؤسستي تشارلز ستيوارت موت وتومسون ماكولي. كانت أحد مؤسسي ومهندس ديترويت للأطفال ، ومؤسس ومدير شبكة ديترويت بارينت.

الأسهم مدفوعة. تونيا هي شركة وطنية رائدة في مجال التنوع والإدماج وممارسات الإنصاف في الأعمال الخيرية. وهي عضو في المجلس الاستشاري للدمج في جنرال موتورز ، ومديرة مستقلة في Sun Communities ، ومستشارة للعديد من الشركات فيما يتعلق بجهود الدمج. شركة! مجلة تكريم تونيا بجائزة تحية للتنوع.

شريك القطاع العام. تمتد قدرات تونيا القيادية والاستشارية إلى القطاع الحكومي. تتعاون بشكل فعال عبر الأحزاب السياسية وقد نجحت في تطوير السياسة العامة للحزبين. عملت ، بما في ذلك كرئيسة ، في عدد من لجان وتحالفات الحاكم ، من بينها لجنة العودة إلى المدرسة خلال جائحة Covid-19. كما قدمت المشورة بشأن مبادرة أخي حارس الرئيس أوباما.

منظم المجتمع. بدأت تونيا حياتها المهنية بالعمل مع أولياء الأمور ورجال الدين وغيرهم من المقيمين داخل الأحياء ، وهو نهج لا يزال محوريًا في روحها. إنها متحمسة لجمع الحلفاء غير المتوقعين معًا - تركيز أصوات وأفكار المجتمع - والمشاركة في إيجاد الحلول حيث يزدهر الناس والكوكب.

قائد الفكر. تونيا هي متحدثة عامة ومؤلفة ومساهمة إعلامية ومستشارة تحث على التفكير. عملت كباحثة مقيمة في كلية كلينتون للخدمة العامة ، حيث كتبت "الحب الراديكالي: مسؤولية العمل الخيري المجتمعي في تمكين التغيير الاجتماعي ، وتعزيز العدالة ، وإحداث التحول. " ظهرت مقالات رأيها حول مواضيع متنوعة مثل تغير المناخ ، والإيكولوجيا الزراعية ، والتأطير القائم على الأصول نيوزويك, التل, داخل العمل الخيري، و ال تاريخ العمل الخيري.

متعلم ملتزم. رغبة تونيا في التعلم من الآخرين لا تشبع. وهي حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في الصحة العامة والعمل الاجتماعي وبكالوريوس في علم الاجتماع من جامعة ميشيغان - آن أربور. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، درست تونيا الشؤون العالمية والحكومات كزميلة عبر الأطلسي في صندوق مارشال الألماني وفي كلية هارفارد كينيدي. حصلت على زمالات في معهد آسبن ومعهد أمريكان إنتربرايز ومجموعة بي إم إي.

Tonya Allen is a leader and a change agent with a passion for co-creating an equitable, sustainable world. In 2021, she became president of the McKnight Foundation, a Minnesota-based family foundation that advances a more just, creative, and abundant future where people and planet thrive. Allen heads a majority women, majority people-of-color senior leadership team and a diverse team of about 60.

The Foundation grants approximately $120 million annually in support of equitable communities, a clean energy economy, global food systems, artists and culture bearers, and innovative neuroscience research. In her first year at McKnight, Allen championed using the Foundation’s investments to advance net zero goals, and elevated our voice and leadership to rebuild Twin Cities neighborhoods and small businesses impacted by Covid-19 and the 2020 civil unrest.

Dynamic Change Agent. Allen has led successful philanthropic, business, government, and community partnerships that catalyze fresh thinking, test new approaches, and advance public policy. Throughout her 25-year career, she has been a bridge-builder and a civic diplomat. Allen has been lauded for her results-driven and highly influential collaborative approach by the Chronicle of Philanthropy (“Five Nonprofit Innovators to Watch”), The Funders Network (Nicholas P. Bollman Award), Detroit News (Michiganian of the Year), and Twin Cities Business (“TCB 100: People to Know in 2022”).

Philanthropic and Civic Leader. Allen chairs the Council on Foundations and serves on many other boards in Minnesota, including the GHR Foundation, Women Presidents Organization Minnesota, and Greater MSP. She is co-chair of the Executives’ Alliance for Boys and Men of Color. Prior to joining McKnight, Allen served as president and CEO of The Skillman Foundation, and as a program officer at the Charles Stewart Mott and Thompson McCully foundations. She was a co-founder and architect of Detroit Children’s Fund, and the founder and director of Detroit Parent Network.

Equity Driven. Allen is a national leader on philanthropic diversity, inclusion, and equity practices. She is a member of General Motors’ Inclusion Advisory Board, an independent director of Sun Communities, and an advisor to numerous corporations regarding inclusion efforts. Corp! Magazine honored Allen with a Salute to Diversity Award.

Public Sector Partner. Allen’s leadership and advisory capabilities extend to the government sector. She collaborates effectively across political parties and has successfully advanced bipartisan public policy. She served, including as chair, on a number of gubernatorial committees and alliances, among them a Return to School committee during the Covid-19 pandemic. She also advised on President Obama’s My Brother’s Keeper Initiative.

Community Organizer. Allen began her career working with parents, faith-leaders, and other residents within neighborhoods, an approach still central to her ethos. She is passionate about bringing unlikely allies together—centering community voices and ideas—and co-creating solutions where people and planet thrive.

Thought Leader. Allen is a thought-provoking public speaker, author, media contributor, and advisor. She served as a scholar-in-residence at the Clinton School of Public Service, where she penned “Radical Love: The Responsibility of Community Philanthropy in Enabling Social Change, Promoting Equity, and Sparking Transformation.” Her opinion pieces on topics as varied as climate change, agroecology, and asset-based framing have appeared in Newsweek, The Hill, Inside Philanthropy, and the Chronicle of Philanthropy.

Engaged Learner. Allen’s desire to learn from others is insatiable. She holds master’s degrees in public health and social work and a bachelor’s in sociology, each from the University of Michigan–Ann Arbor. Additionally, Allen studied global affairs and governments as a German Marshall Fund Transatlantic Fellow and at the Harvard Kennedy School. She earned fellowships at the Aspen Institute, the American Enterprise Institute, and BMe Community.

Download Portrait Photos