跳到内容

我们的方法

麦克奈特基金会的合作作物研究计划(CCRP)为农业生态集约化(AEI)的参与性合作研究提供资金。赠款要么支持基于区域的研究项目,这些项目分为非洲和南美洲的四个区域实践社区(CoPs),或者是跨领域的。区域项目通常将国际,国家和/或地方组织与小农,研究人员,发展专业人员和其他利益相关者社区联系起来。跨领域项目支持跨地区的工作。 CCRP项目产生技术和社会创新,以提高农业社区的生产力,生计,营养和公平。当新的想法,技术或流程适应不同的环境,当研究的见解催化政策和实践的变化,以及创新激发进一步的成功时,就能实现大规模的影响。

农业生态集约化

农业生态集约化(AEI)的定义是通过将生态学原理纳入农场和系统管理来提高农业绩效。根据具体情况,改善绩效可能意味着以下任何或所有方面:提高生产力,增加当地资源的使用,改善饮食,改善生计,增加公平性,同时提高养殖景观的恢复力和环境服务。特点是,AEI:

  • 利用当地和全球知识提高作物,树木,牲畜,病虫害和土壤管理的效率和有效性;
  • 提高土壤健康和肥力,增加功能多样性,减少收获前和收获后的损失;
  • 有助于发展当地价值链和多样化营养饮食;
  • 灵活,适应当地条件,包括农民获得投入和市场;
  • 基于对生物物理,社会经济,文化,性别,气候和其他背景的不断变化的理解;
  • 通过增强抵御能力和适应性,降低风险并提高生产力;
  • 需要考虑权力和公平的跨部门合作。

当地人和组织在CCRP的基于地点的方法中得到认可,因为他们对其所在地区所面临的挑战有着细致的了解。在CCRP资助的研究中,受助者在利益相关者之间建立了高质量的长期合作关系。合作伙伴之间的知识共享加强了地方机构,增加了集体行动和可持续解决方案的潜力。

CCRP的区域实践社区

CCRP侧重于四个高度粮食不安全的地区,为补充和加强区域和计划性赠款组合的资助项目提供资金。 CCRP使用实践社区(CoP)方法,其中对AEI有共同承诺的人和组织定期互动以改进他们的工作。 CCRP的CoP模型强调网络,学习和集体行动。区域CoP旨在促进合作,知识共创和创新/信息交流,以及帮助加强区域,机构,项目和个人层面的能力。学习交流发生在四个地理CoP之内,之间和之外。

区域战略和团队

有关CCRP支持的工作的更多信息, 访问CCRP.org

women sitting down and having a drink

Andes CoP(玻利维亚,厄瓜多尔和秘鲁)

支持包含保护和本地农业生物多样性的综合多样化生产系统。这个地区由Julio Postigo和Claire Nicklin支持。

family standing together and sorting their crops up

东非CoP(埃塞俄比亚,肯尼亚和乌干达)

旨在改善农业系统的表现,并通过提高作物多样性,改善当地的饮食和生计。该地区由Beth Medvecky和Linnet Gohole提供支持。

people analyzing their crops

南部非洲CoP(马拉维,莫桑比克和坦桑尼亚)

目标是研究豆类生产力的限制因素,以及提高作物生产力和收获后做法。该地区由Kate Wellard和Prudence Kaijage提供支持。

an African man looking through standing between his plants

西非CoP(布基纳法索,马里和尼日尔)

通过农业生态集约化,豆类和小作物多样化,改善树木与牲畜的整合以及发展当地价值链,努力提高高粱和珍珠粟生产系统的生产力和营养贡献。这个地区由Bettina Haussmann和Batamaka Some支持。

two men walking next to bicycles with their crops

跨领域拨款组合

支持跨区域CoP感兴趣的方面。这些可能涉及与AEI和全球粮食安全相关的全球对话,或与AEI研究相关的新想法或技术创新。 Jane Maland Cady和Rebecca Nelson支持跨领域的资助。

CCRP对CoP参与的期望

CCRP受助人经常报告该计划的CoP方法是该计划中最独特和最有价值的部分之一,有助于提高研究质量以及利益相关者之间的持续关系和伙伴关系。但是,这是一种资源和时间密集型方法。受助人参与CoP的期望和好处包括:

  • 参加区域CoP的年度会议 受让人召集,通常涉及科学演示,互动或建模练习,同伴交流和反馈,集体反思/创意生成和/或沉浸式实地考察。 (用于支付旅费和相关费用的资金包括在赠款项目预算中);
  • CCRP的支持和合作 区域团队 开发和执行赠款项目的顾问,包括初始会议,年中审查会议,同行审查和出版支持,以及持续的沟通和技术援助;
  • 支持 发展和加强评估思维和实践- 包括围绕发展评估和适应性行动的技能和方法 - 在CCRP的综合监测,评估和规划(IMEP)顾问团队的协助下;
  • 帮忙 加强研究计划,设计,执行和分析- 包括CCRP研究方法支持(RMS)团队的研讨会,网络研讨会,会议和实践指导;

额外的机会 每年,例如会议赞助,跨项目会议和交流,主题小组工作,以及访问大量技术专家以及其他资源和工具,如框架,手册,指南,视频,传感器,数据库和GIS技术的提供。

变革理论

CCRP使用“变革理论”来表示我们打算为农业社区提供更好的生计,生产力和营养的方式。

我们的变革理论(下图)描绘了我们的工作旨在产生影响的两个相互关联和不同的途径。一个是支持以AEI为中心的研究,旨在提高农场一级的绩效。另一个是支持加强个人和机构的能力,提高农业研究和开发工作的相关性和质量,为农业的持续改善奠定基础。

变革理论有助于我们确定项目,区域和项目层面的融资策略;确定研究重点和适当的合作伙伴并确定评估我们工作的镜头。变革理论提供了一个统一的框架,以了解CCRP的研究成果和我们的受助者支持流程如何结合起来产生影响。

我们不断测试,修改和完善这一变革理论,以改进我们自己的编程以及我们的受助者的编程,并使用我们学到的知识来为社区利用更多的资源。受助者还被要求制定明确的变革文件理论。

如何申请

根据标准选择赠款,包括与计划和区域优先事项和战略,质量,创新和当地背景意识保持一致。 详细了解如何申请。

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Our Approach

The McKnight Foundation’s Collaborative Crop Research Program (CCRP) funds participatory, collaborative research on agroecological intensification (AEI). Grants either support regionally based research projects that are grouped into four regional communities of practice (CoPs) in Africa and South America, or are cross-cutting in nature. Regional projects typically link international, national, and/or local organizations with communities of smallholder farmers, researchers, development professionals, and other stakeholders. Cross-cutting projects support aspects of work across regions. CCRP projects generate technical and social innovations to improve productivity, livelihoods, nutrition, and equity for farming communities. Large-scale impact is realized when new ideas, technologies, or processes are adapted to different contexts, when insights from research catalyze change in policy and practice, and when innovation inspires further success.

Agroecological Intensification

Agroecological Intensification (AEI) is defined as improving the performance of agriculture through integration of ecological principles into farm and system management. Depending on the context, improved performance may mean any or all of the following: increased productivity, enhanced use of local resources, better diets, improved livelihoods, and increased equity, with associated increases in resilience and environmental service provision from farmed landscapes. Characteristically, AEI:

  • Uses local and global knowledge to improve efficiency and effectiveness of crop, tree, livestock, pest and disease, and soil management;
  • Enhances soil health and fertility, increases functional diversity, and reduces pre- and post-harvest losses;
  • Contributes to the development of local value chains and diverse and nutritious diets;
  • Is flexible and responsive to local conditions, including farmers’ access to inputs and markets;
  • Is based on evolving understandings of biophysical, socioeconomic, cultural, gender, climate, and other contexts;
  • Reduces risk and increases productivity through enhanced resilience and adaptation;
  • Requires cross-sector collaboration that considers power and equity.

Local people and organizations are recognized under the CCRP’s place-based approach as having a nuanced understanding of the challenges their regions face. In CCRP-funded research, grantees develop quality, long-term partnerships among stakeholders. Knowledge sharing among partners reinforces local agency and increases the potential for collective action and sustainable solutions.

CCRP’s Regional Communities of Practice

The CCRP focuses on four regions of high food insecurity, funding projects that complement and enhance regional and programmatic grant portfolios. The CCRP uses a Community of Practice (CoP) approach, in which people and organizations with a common commitment to AEI interact regularly to improve their work. CCRP’s CoP model emphasizes networking, learning, and collective action. The regional CoPs aim to facilitate collaboration, knowledge co-creation, and innovation/information exchange, as well as helping to strengthen capacity at regional, institutional, project, and individual levels. Learning exchange occurs within, between, and beyond the four geographic CoPs.

Regional Strategies and Teams

For more information about the work supported by CCRP, visit CCRP.org

women sitting down and having a drink

Andes CoP (Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru)

Supports integrated and diverse production systems that embrace conservation and native agricultural biodiversity. This region is supported by Julio Postigo and Claire Nicklin.

family standing together and sorting their crops up

Eastern Africa CoP (Ethiopia, Kenya, and Uganda)

Aims to improve farming systems performance and, through greater crop diversity, to enhance local diets and livelihoods. This region is supported by Beth Medvecky and Linnet Gohole.

people analyzing their crops

Southern Africa CoP (Malawi, Mozambique, and Tanzania)

Targets research on constraints to legume productivity and also to improvements in crop productivity and post-harvest practices. This region is supported by Kate Wellard and Prudence Kaijage.

an African man looking through standing between his plants

West Africa CoP (Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger)

Strives to enhance productivity and nutritional contributions of sorghum and pearl millet-based production systems via agroecological intensification, diversification with legumes and minor crops, improved tree-livestock integration, and development of local value chains. This region is supported by Bettina Haussmann and Batamaka Some.

two men walking next to bicycles with their crops

Cross-cutting grant portfolio

Supports aspects of interest across the regional CoPs. These may relate to global dialogues of relevance to AEI and global food security, or new ideas or technical innovation of relevance to AEI research. Cross-cutting grantmaking is supported by Jane Maland Cady and Rebecca Nelson.

CCRP Expectations for CoP Involvement

CCRP grantees frequently report that the program’s CoP approach is one of the most unique and valuable parts of the program, contributing to improved research quality as well as sustained relationships and partnerships among stakeholders. However, it is a resource- and time-intensive approach. Expectations and benefits for grantees’ participation in the CoP include:

  • Attend the regional CoP’s annual grantee convening, which typically involves scientific presentations, interactive or modeling exercises, peer exchange and feedback, collective reflection / idea generation, and/or immersive field visits. (Funds to cover travel and related expenses are included in grant project budgets);
  • Support by and partnership with CCRP’s regional team of consultants in the development and execution of grant projects, including inception meetings, mid-year review meetings, peer review and publication support, and ongoing communication and technical assistance;
  • Support to develop and strengthen evaluative thinking and practice—including skills and methodologies around developmental evaluation and adaptive action—with assistance from CCRP’s Integrated Monitoring, Evaluation, & Planning (IMEP)  consultant team;
  • Help to strengthen research planning, design, execution, and analysis—including workshops, webinars, meetings, and hands-on guidance from CCRP’s research methods support (RMS) team;

Additional opportunities throughout each year, such as conference sponsorship, cross-project meetings and exchanges, thematic group work, and access to a host of technical experts as well as other resources and tools such as frameworks, handbooks, guides, videos, sensors, databases, and GIS technology provision.

Theory of Change

The CCRP uses a “theory of change” to represent the ways in which we intend to contribute to better livelihoods, productivity, and nutrition for farming communities.

Our theory of change (below) maps two interrelated and distinct pathways through which our work is intended to make an impact. One is support for AEI-centered research that aims to improve performance at the farm level. The other is support for capacity strengthening for individuals and institutions  that increases the relevance and quality of agricultural research and development efforts, which provide a foundation for sustained improvements in farming.

The theory of change helps us identify funding strategies at the project, regional, and program level; identify research priorities and appropriate partners; and determine the lens through which to evaluate our work. The theory of change provides a unified framework to understand how the CCRP’s research outputs and our grantee support processes combine to create impact.

We continually test, revise, and refine this theory of change both to improve our own programming as well as that of our grantees and to use what we learn to leverage greater resources for communities. Grantees are also asked to develop explicit theory of change documents.

How to Apply

Grants are selected based on criteria that include alignment with program and regional priorities and strategies, quality, innovation, and awareness of local context. Learn more on how to apply.