Skip to content
Arts advocates gathered at the state capitol for Arts Advocacy Day 2017, organized by Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. | photo credit: Scott Streble for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts

Regional Arts Councils

The McKnight Foundation funds the state’s 11 Regional Arts Councils (RACs), established by the Minnesota Legislature in 1977 to encourage local art and cultural activity throughout the state. Since 2010, the RACs have directed all McKnight funding to support individual artists and artist-centered activities.

orthwest Minnesota Arts Council Logo

Region 1: Northwest Minnesota Arts Council
Warren, MN (218) 745-9111
Counties served: Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Roseau

2 Region 2 arts council logo

Region 2: Region 2 Arts Council
Bemidji, MN (218) 751-5447
Counties served: Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Lake of the Woods, and Mahnomen

Arrowhead Regional Arts Council Logo

Region 3: Arrowhead Regional Arts Council
Duluth, MN (800) 569-8134
Counties served: Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis

Lake Region Arts Council Logo

Region 4: Lake Region Arts Council
Fergus Falls, MN (800) 262-2787
Counties served: Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin

Five Wings Arts Council Logo

Region 5: Five Wings Arts Council
Staples, MN (218) 894-5485
Counties served: Cass, Crow Wing, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena

Southwest MN Arts Council Logo

Region 6E/SW/8: Southwest Minnesota Arts Council
Marshall, MN (800) 622-5284
Counties served: Big Stone, Cottonwood, Chippewa, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Swift, and Yellow Medicine

East Central Arts Council Logo

Region 7E: East Central Regional Arts Council
Braham, MN (320) 396-2337
Counties served: Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, and Pine

Central MN Arts Board Logo

Region 7W: Central Minnesota Arts Board
Foley, MN (320) 968-4290
Counties served: Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, and Wright

prairie lakes logo

Region 9: Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council
Waseca, MN (800) 298-1254
Counties served: Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan

Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council Logo

Region 10: Southeast Minnesota Arts Council
Rochester, MN (507) 281-4848
Counties served: Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, and Winona

Metro regional arts council logo

Region 11: Metropolitan Regional Arts Council
St. Paul, MN (651) 645-0402
Counties served: Anoka, Carver, Dakota, suburban Hennepin, suburban Ramsey, Scott, and Washington

English (Canada)