跳到内容

艺术空间

类型: 低于市场投资,高影响投资

话题: 建筑与住宅

由于农村和城市地区的发展压力,艺术家和创意企业努力寻找安全、负担得起的生活空间和工作室。 Artspace 利用其房地产开发专业知识来支持艺术家。在过去的 30 年里,它开发了 50 多个混合用途的物业,为 1,500 多位艺术家及其家人提供了住所,并为 600 家商业企业提供了工作空间。

investment icon

投资

$2万元10年期贷款0.75%;起源于2020年

rationale icon

合理

基于我们的创意场所营造赠款,McKnight 的项目相关投资为未来十年在明尼苏达州、亚利桑那州、科罗拉多州、纽约州和马里兰州的 8-10 个项目的管道补充内部营运资金。我们预计这笔低息贷款将帮助 Artspace 筹集和借入总计 $1.39 亿的开发资金,以推动超过 100 万平方英尺的新空间。 Artspace 深思熟虑的前期开发工作旨在赢得社区和市政的深度支持。

McKnight 的贷款还将支持明尼苏达州的项目,如 Hennepin 艺术中心,该中心努力确保少数族裔社区在传统上无法获得足够的生活空间或艺术家工作室机会

returns icon

返回

说得太早

lessons learned icon

得到教训

报道太早了。然而,这项与计划相关的投资 (PRI) 是 McKnight 对替代经济和创造性地利用资本使艺术家受益的持续探索的一部分。我们希望这项投资能够为麦克奈特在创意艺术领导力和公平社区的交叉点上的新战略提供学习机会。

照片来源: 艺术空间:明尼苏达州圣保罗的北部仓库艺术家阁楼。

免责声明: McKnight基金会不认可或推荐任何商业产品,流程或服务提供商。

最后更新 10/2021

简体中文

Skip to content

Artspace

Because of development pressures in rural and urban areas, artists and creative enterprises struggle to find secure, affordable living spaces and studios. Artspace leverages its real estate development expertise to support artists. Over the past 30 years, it has developed more than 50 mixed-use properties, providing homes to over 1,500 artists and their families and workspaces for 600 commercial businesses.

investment icon

Investment

$2 million 10-year loan at 0.75%; originated in 2020

rationale icon

Rationale

Building on our creative place-making grants, McKnight’s program-related investment replenishes internal working capital for a pipeline of 8–10 projects over the next decade in Minnesota, Arizona, Colorado, New York, and Maryland. We expect this low-interest loan will help Artspace raise and borrow a total of $139 million in development capital to fuel more than 1 million square feet of new space. Artspace’s thoughtful, predevelopment work aims to earn deep community and municipal support.

McKnight’s loan will also support Minnesota projects like the Hennepin Center for the Arts, which strives to ensure opportunities for minority communities that have not traditionally had as much access to living spaces or artists’ studios

returns icon

Returns

Too early to tell

lessons learned icon

Lessons Learned

Too early to report. However, this program related investment (PRI) is part of McKnight’s ongoing exploration of alternative economies and creative use of capital to benefit artists. We hope the investment will provide learning for McKnight’s new strategies at the intersection of creative arts leadership and equitable communities.

Photo Credit: Artspace: Northern Warehouse Artist Lofts in Saint Paul, MN.

Disclaimer of Endorsement: The McKnight Foundation does not endorse or recommend any commercial products, processes, or service providers.

Last updated 10/2021

English