跳到内容

资金常见问题

获得最常见的资金问题的答案。

获得资助的基本要求是什么?

除极少数例外情况外,申请人必须被美国国税局(Internal Revenue Service)归类为免税,非营利组织才有资格获得补助金。我们提供规划,运营和项目拨款。请注意,基金会在资助方面的主要地理重点是明尼苏达州的艺术,教育,明尼苏达州倡议基金以及地区和社区计划。

我相信我的组织或计划符合McKnight的指导方针。我们如何申请补助金?

首先要熟悉我们的各种各样 程式 以及他们的具体战略和资助标准。请注意,某些程序仅限受邀者。

我们不会回应明显不属于McKnight规定的计划利益范围的资金查询。

如果您符合准则,请致电(612)333-4220,与您资助区域的项目主管或项目官员讨论您的询问。如果McKnight的计划工作人员确定基金会可以考虑资助,我们将提供提交提案的说明。

为什么我无法访问在线申请系统以提交新的资金查询?

在线申请系统只能在截止日期前两周访问,每个季度发生一次。检查的“如何申请”页面 计划领域 有关详细信息,因为截止日期因计划而异。

为什么我找不到适合我工作领域的指南?

我们认为,通过将资源集中在少数程序和/或地理区域,基金会可以最有效。不可避免地,这意味着我们无法支持我们计划利益之外的许多有价值的项目。

我们不会回应明显不属于McKnight规定的计划利益范围的资金查询。

游说有哪些规定?

基金会可考虑资助对诸如宣传之类的努力的要求,以改进行政,司法和行政机构的政策和行政规则;信息共享是中立的,无党派的,并且充分描述了未决立法问题的双方;和政策研究和教育。

根据“国内税收法”的要求,基金会不会资助影响具体未决或拟议立法的企图,包括公民投票,地方法令和决议。这项禁令通常包括直接游说立法者和其他政府官员的具体立法,以及旨在影响具体立法的大众媒体广告活动。

如果您对拟议活动的可接受性有疑问,请查看“国内税收法”和“财政部条例”第53.4945-2节第4945(e)节中有关禁止活动的详细规定。

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Funding FAQ

Get answers to the most frequently asked funding questions.

What are the basic requirements to be eligible for a grant?

With very few exceptions, applicants must be classified by the Internal Revenue Service as tax-exempt, nonprofit organizations to be eligible for a grant. We provide planning, operating, and project grants. We discourage the use of fiscal agents. Please note that the Foundation’s primary geographic focus in grantmaking is the state of Minnesota for our Arts, Education & Learning, Minnesota Initiative Funds, and Region & Communities programs.

I believe my organization or program fits McKnight’s guidelines. How do we apply for a grant?

Start with familiarizing yourself with our varied Programs and their specific strategies and grantmaking criteria. Please note that some programs are invitation-only.

We will not respond to funding inquiries that clearly fall outside McKnight’s stated areas of program interest.

If you do fit within the guidelines, call us at (612) 333-4220 to discuss your inquiry with a program director or program officer in your funding area. If McKnight’s program staff determines that the Foundation can consider funding, we will provide instructions for submitting a proposal.

Why can’t I access the online application system to submit a new funding inquiry?

The online application system is only accessible for two weeks prior to deadline, which occur every quarter. Check the “how to apply” page of the program area for more details as deadlines vary between programs.

Why can’t I find guidelines that fit my area of work?

We believe that foundations can be most effective by concentrating their resources in a few programmatic and/or geographic areas. Inevitably, this means we cannot support many worthy projects outside our program interests.

We will not respond to funding inquiries that clearly fall outside McKnight’s stated areas of program interest.

What are the regulations around lobbying?

The Foundation may consider funding requests for efforts such as advocacy to improve the policies and administrative rules of executive, judicial, and administrative agencies; information-sharing that is neutral, nonpartisan, and fully describes both sides of a pending legislative issue; and policy research and education.

As required by the Internal Revenue Code, the Foundation will not fund attempts to influence specific pending or proposed legislation, including referenda, local ordinances, and resolutions. This prohibition generally includes direct lobbying of legislators and other government officials with respect to specific legislation, and mass media advertising campaigns aimed at influencing specific legislation.

If you have questions about the acceptability of a proposed activity, please review the detailed provisions describing prohibited activities in Section 4945(e) of the Internal Revenue Code and Treasury Regulations Section 53.4945-2.