跳到内容

我们如何投资

我们相信McKnight的四点框架可以帮助任何投资者为真正具有弹性的经济做出贡献。

这是一个实用的框架,可以根据财务和人力资源的规模扩大或缩小,它可以帮助有经验的影响投资者展示他们整个捐赠的力量。

McKnight基金会每年拨款超过8500万美元,用于支持致力于社会,经济和环境可持续发展社区的非营利组织。我们将投资额外2亿美元的投资,产生更大的积极影响。我们正在寻找其他令人兴奋的机会,利用我们22亿美元的捐赠来完成我们的使命。我们投资的每3美元中约有1美元与McKnight的使命一致。

我们的方法围绕四个杠杆点组织:

资产所有者

我们是向公共和私人市场部署数百万美元资产的所有者。

金融服务客户

我们是金融产品和服务的消费者,可以促进我们雇佣的资产管理者对环境,社会和公司治理(ESG)问题的综合思考。

公司股东

我们是投票公司代理人的公司的股东,并提出有关ESG实践,战略和风险管理的问题。

市场参与者

我们是一家机构投资者,与其他人合作,寻找交易,创造更好的市场条件,分享与我们的投资组合相关的成功与失败。

重点战略

我们的影响力投资必须与我们三个资助区域的目标密切配合: 中西部气候与能源密西西比河,和 地区和社区。为了保持专注,我们只在我们计划的这个阶段在美国进行投资。

内部监督

以我们为指导 影响投资政策,影响力投资计划由项目主管领导 Elizabeth McGeveran。投资决策由董事会的任务投资委员会决定,其中包括三名投资委员会成员和一名额外董事。该委员会对所有投资理念做出最终决定,并与我们的投资委员会密切协调,以确保投资组合的一致性。

伙伴

印记资本高盛资产管理的一个部门,是我们的主要服务提供商,为基金会提供咨询,并对公共和私人基金,直接投资以及一些与计划相关的投资(PRI)进行尽职调查。 Imprint的团队也是McKnight的重要思想伙伴。我们还通过非正式的方式与其他基金会和机构投资者合作,并通过更正式的合作。特别是 气候风险投资者网络 一如既往地成为气候变化的重要资源 CDP.

“气候变化有可能破坏麦克奈特捐赠基金的价值。结合对气候变化的长期认识 - 其原因及其解决方案 - 是保护禀赋回报的一部分。“

资源: 巴黎之路:通过投资和慈善事业建设低碳经济

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

How We Invest

We believe McKnight’s four-point framework can help any investor contribute to a truly resilient economy.

It is a practical framework that can be scaled up or down depending on financial and human resources, and it can assist experienced impact investors in flexing the muscle of their entire endowment.

The McKnight Foundation grants over $85 million a year to support nonprofit organizations working toward socially, economically, and environmentally sustainable communities. We will invest at least $200 million in investments with higher positive impacts. And we are finding other exciting opportunities to leverage our $2.2 billion endowment with our mission. Approximately $1 out of every $3 we invest is aligned with McKnight’s mission.

Our approach is organized around four points of leverage:

Asset Owner

We are an owner of assets deploying millions of dollars into public and private markets.

Customer of Financial Services

We are a consumer of financial products and services that can promote integrated thinking on environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) issues among the asset managers we hire.

Shareholder of Corporations

We are a shareholder of corporations that votes company proxies and raises questions about ESG practices, strategy, and risk management.

Market Participant

We are an institutional investor that works with others to source deals, create better market conditions, and share successes and failures related to our portfolios.

A Focused Strategy

Our impact investments must closely align with the goals of our two priority grantmaking areas: Midwest Climate & Energy and building equitable and inclusive communities in Minnesota, an emerging program that will announce its program guidelines in fall 2020.

At this stage, we are making investments in the United States only.

Internal Oversight

Guided by our impact investing policy, the impact investing program is led by program director Elizabeth McGeveran. Investment decisions are made by the Mission Investing Committee of the board of directors, which includes three members of the Investment Committee and one additional director. This committee makes the final decision on all investment ideas and works in close coordination with our Investment Committee for portfolio coherence.

Partners

Imprint Capital, a division of Goldman Sachs Asset Management, is our primary service provider, advising the Foundation and conducting due diligence on public and private funds, direct investments, and some program-related investments (PRIs). Imprint’s team also serve as an important thought partner for McKnight. We also work with other foundations and institutional investors informally and through more formal collaborations. In particular, the Investor Network on Climate Risk has been a valued resource on climate change, as has CDP.

“Climate change has the potential to undermine the value of the McKnight endowment. Incorporating a long-term understanding of climate change — its causes and its solutions — is part of protecting the returns of the endowment.”

source: The Road Through Paris: Building a Low-Carbon Economy with Investing and Philanthropy

English
˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ English