跳到内容

为何我们投资

McKnight基金会由3M公司的早期领导者之一创立,其慈善方法的创新体现在其中。

董事会在2013年秉持这种精神,开始了一个谨慎的过程,并要求:我们的捐赠还能做些什么来推动我们改善现代和后代生活质量的使命?

2014年,麦克奈特基金会承诺投资2亿美元(其20亿美元捐赠基金的10%)用于符合麦克奈特任务的战略。在推进我们的使命的同时,这些投资可以带来经济回报,履行我们的信托义务,推动项目学习。我们的目标是产生三重底线。

财务回报

每笔投资都有针对性的财务回报,符合我们的信托标准。我们的影响投资组合中有一半必须符合标准市场预期;另外一个季度将承担更多风险,其余季度将采用与计划相关的投资(PRI),这些投资由美国国税局定义为具有慈善目的的非商业投资。

环境与社会回报

每项投资都有助于以鼓舞人心的方式解决社会和/或环境挑战。我们寻求创造经济适用房的投资,帮助建立我们的都市区的可持续性,提高能源效率,促进分布式发电,减少商业农业的化学投入,或保护草原和湿地。

年度影响报告提供了更全面的业务成功情况。我们收集数据以更好地了解我们投资的基金和业务所创造的关键社会和环境价值。我们的目标是保持测量要求简单,实用和可持续。

学习回报

每项投资都为基金会提供有关市场差距和机会以及私营部门解决方案的深入学习。投资和资助人员密切合作,以捕捉这些见解并将其制度化。我们希望市场经验有助于更好,更智能的资助。此外,正如我们从其他人的知识和经验中受益一样,我们将其视为我们分享学习回报的使命的一部分。

“越来越多的证据......支持这样一个前提,即你不必牺牲财务回报 - 并且可能通过纳入ESG(环境,社会和治理考虑因素)来增强它。”

-Kate Wolford,麦克奈特基金会主席
资源: CEP:“让我们接受我们慈善事业的财务责任”

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Why We Invest

Founded by one of the early leaders of the 3M Company, the McKnight Foundation has innovation embedded in its approach to philanthropy.

Carrying that spirit in 2013, the board embarked on a careful process, asking: What more can our endowment do to further our mission of improving the quality of life for present and future generations?

In 2014, the McKnight Foundation committed to investing $200 million (10 percent of its $2 billion endowment) in strategies that align with McKnight’s mission. These investments generate financial return, meet our fiduciary duty, and drive program learning, all while advancing our mission. We aim to generate a triple bottom line.

Financial Returns

Each investment has a targeted financial return that meets our fiduciary standards. Half of our impact investment portfolio must return in line with standard market expections; another quarter will take slighly more risk, and the remaining quarter will be in program-related investments (PRIs), which are defined by the IRS as non-commercial investments with a charitable purpose.

Environment & Social Returns

Each investment contributes to solving social and/or environmental challenges in inspiring ways. We seek investments that create affordable housing, help build the sustainability of our metro region, increase energy efficiency, promote the distributed generation of electricity, reduce chemical inputs in commercial agriculture, or preserve grasslands and wetlands.

Annual impact reporting provides a more comprehensive picture of the success of the business. We collect data to better understand the critical social and environmental value created by the funds and businesses where we invest. We aim to keep measurement requirements simple, useful, and sustainable.

Learning Returns

Each investment provides deep learning to the Foundation about market gaps and opportunities, as well as private-sector solutions. Investment and grantmaking staff work closely to capture and institutionalize these insights. We hope that market experience contributes to better, smarter grantmaking. In addition, just as we’ve benefited from the knowledge and experiences of others, we see it as part of our mission to share our learning returns.

“Old school thinking asks whether a fund manager can succeed in spite of sustainability consideration. The reality is, it’s possible to find success because of it.”

-ELIZABETH MCGEVERAN, DIRECTOR OF INVESTMENTS
source: “Sustainability Focus, Extraordinary Performance”

English
˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ English