تخطى الى المحتوى

لماذا نستثمر

تأسست مؤسسة McKnight ، التي أسسها أحد القادة الأوائل لشركة 3M ، على الابتكار في منهجها للعمل الخيري.

تحمل هذه الروح في عام 2013 ، شرع مجلس الإدارة في عملية دقيقة ، متسائلاً: ما الذي يمكن أن يفعله هباتنا لتعزيز مهمتنا المتمثلة في تحسين نوعية الحياة للأجيال الحالية والمقبلة؟

في عام 2014 ، التزمت مؤسسة ماكنايت باستثمار 200 مليون دولار (10 في المائة من هباتها البالغة 2 مليار دولار) في استراتيجيات تتماشى مع مهمة ماكنايت. تولد هذه الاستثمارات عائدًا ماليًا ، وتفي بواجبنا الائتماني ، وتدفع إلى تعلم البرنامج ، كل ذلك مع تعزيز مهمتنا. ونحن نهدف إلى توليد خط القاع الثلاثي.

عوائد مالية

كل استثمار له عائد مالي مستهدف يلبي معاييرنا الائتمانية. يجب أن يعود نصف محفظة استثماراتنا ذات التأثير إلى جانب توقعات السوق القياسية ؛ سيأخذ الربع الآخر مخاطر أكثر قليلاً ، وسيكون الربع المتبقي في الاستثمارات المرتبطة بالبرنامج (PRIs) ، والتي يتم تعريفها من قبل مصلحة الضرائب على أنها استثمارات غير تجارية لغرض خيري.

البيئة والعائدات الاجتماعية

يساهم كل استثمار في حل التحديات الاجتماعية و / أو البيئية بطرق ملهمة. نحن نسعى إلى الاستثمارات التي تخلق الإسكان الميسور التكلفة ، وتساعد على بناء استدامة منطقة المترو لدينا ، أو تزيد من كفاءة استخدام الطاقة ، أو تعزز توليد الكهرباء الموزع ، أو تقلل المدخلات الكيميائية في الزراعة التجارية ، أو تحافظ على الأراضي العشبية والأراضي الرطبة.

تقدم تقارير التأثير السنوي صورة أكثر شمولاً لنجاح العمل. نقوم بجمع البيانات لفهم القيمة الاجتماعية والبيئية الهامة التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة الصناديق والشركات حيث نستثمر بشكل أفضل. نحن نهدف إلى الحفاظ على متطلبات القياس بسيطة ومفيدة ومستدامة.

عوائد التعلم

يوفر كل استثمار تعلمًا عميقًا للمؤسسة حول الثغرات والفرص المتاحة في السوق ، بالإضافة إلى حلول القطاع الخاص. يعمل موظفو الاستثمار والمنح عن كثب لالتقاط هذه الأفكار وإضفاء الطابع المؤسسي عليها. نأمل أن تسهم تجربة السوق في تقديم منح أفضل وأكثر ذكاءً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تمامًا كما استفدنا من معرفة وتجارب الآخرين ، فإننا نرى أنه كجزء من مهمتنا لتبادل عوائد التعلم لدينا.

"يسأل التفكير القديم في المدرسة ما إذا كان مدير الصندوق يمكن أن ينجح على الرغم من مراعاة الاستدامة. الحقيقة هي أنه من الممكن إيجاد النجاح بسببه. "

- إليزابيث ماكفيران ، مدير الاستثمارات
مصدر: & #8220؛ التركيز على الاستدامة والأداء الاستثنائي & #8221؛

العربية
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ العربية

Skip to content

Why We Invest

Founded by one of the early leaders of the 3M Company, the McKnight Foundation has innovation embedded in its approach to philanthropy.

Carrying that spirit in 2013, the board embarked on a careful process, asking: What more can our endowment do to further our mission of improving the quality of life for present and future generations?

In 2014, the McKnight Foundation committed to investing $200 million (10 percent of its $2 billion endowment) in strategies that align with McKnight’s mission. These investments generate financial return, meet our fiduciary duty, and drive program learning, all while advancing our mission. We aim to generate a triple bottom line.

Financial Returns

Each investment has a targeted financial return that meets our fiduciary standards. Half of our impact investment portfolio must return in line with standard market expections; another quarter will take slighly more risk, and the remaining quarter will be in program-related investments (PRIs), which are defined by the IRS as non-commercial investments with a charitable purpose.

Environment & Social Returns

Each investment contributes to solving social and/or environmental challenges in inspiring ways. We seek investments that create affordable housing, help build the sustainability of our metro region, increase energy efficiency, promote the distributed generation of electricity, reduce chemical inputs in commercial agriculture, or preserve grasslands and wetlands.

Annual impact reporting provides a more comprehensive picture of the success of the business. We collect data to better understand the critical social and environmental value created by the funds and businesses where we invest. We aim to keep measurement requirements simple, useful, and sustainable.

Learning Returns

Each investment provides deep learning to the Foundation about market gaps and opportunities, as well as private-sector solutions. Investment and grantmaking staff work closely to capture and institutionalize these insights. We hope that market experience contributes to better, smarter grantmaking. In addition, just as we’ve benefited from the knowledge and experiences of others, we see it as part of our mission to share our learning returns.

“Old school thinking asks whether a fund manager can succeed in spite of sustainability consideration. The reality is, it’s possible to find success because of it.”

-ELIZABETH MCGEVERAN, DIRECTOR OF INVESTMENTS
source: “Sustainability Focus, Extraordinary Performance”

English
˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ English