跳到内容

历史

William L. McKnight和他的妻子Maude L. McKnight于1953年在明尼阿波利斯成立了McKnight基金会。作为3M的早期领导者之一,McKnight先生从助理簿记员到总裁,首席执行官和董事会主席的职业生涯中跨越了从1907年到1966年,59年。他关于员工主动性和创新的理念仍然指导着当今许多领先的企业。

麦克奈特基金会是一个独立的私人慈善组织;它不隶属于3M。

1974年,在他的妻子去世后不久,麦克奈特要求他们唯一的孩子,弗吉尼亚麦克奈特冰儿,领导基金会。 Binger夫人与Russell Ewald一起担任执行董事,建立了正式的资助计划和基于社区的方法,这仍然是基金会遗产的一部分。

麦克奈特的拨款计划反映了不同利益和投资的数十年和几代人。这个私人家庭基金会的第四代成员继续积极参与董事会。

Virginia Mcknight headshot

Virginia McKnight Binger Unsung Hero奖

每年,麦克奈特基金会和明尼苏达州非营利组织理事会都会向四位明尼苏达人致敬,他们无私奉献给我们的社区。

该奖项以Virginia McKnight Binger的名字命名,这是该基金会的第一个董事会主席,也是McKnight创始人的唯一女儿。 Binger夫人于2002年去世,这个奖项帮助我们记住了她持久的同情,谦逊和慷慨的精神。

该奖项最初被称为人类服务中的弗吉尼亚麦克奈特宾格奖,自1985年首次颁发以来,该奖项已超过280人。

提名现在开放至5月31日。

提名一个无名英雄

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

History

William L. McKnight and his wife, Maude L. McKnight, established the McKnight Foundation in Minneapolis in 1953. One of the early leaders of 3M, Mr. McKnight rose from assistant bookkeeper to president, CEO, and board chair in a career that spanned 59 years, from 1907 to 1966. His philosophy on employee initiative and innovation still guides many leading businesses today.

The McKnight Foundation is an independent private philanthropic organization; it is not affiliated with 3M.

In 1974, shortly after his wife’s death, McKnight asked their only child, Virginia McKnight Binger, to lead the Foundation. Working with Russell Ewald as executive director, Mrs. Binger established the formal grantmaking program and community-based approach that remain a part of the Foundation’s legacy.

McKnight’s grant programs reflect decades, and generations, of diverse interests and investments. Fourth-generation members of this private family foundation continue to be active on the board of trustees.

Virginia Mcknight headshot

Virginia McKnight Binger Unsung Hero Awards

Each year, the McKnight Foundation and the Minnesota Council of Nonprofits honor four Minnesotans who give selflessly to our communities.

The award is named for Virginia McKnight Binger, the Foundation’s first board chair and the only daughter of McKnight’s founders. Mrs. Binger passed away in 2002, and this award helps us remember her enduring spirit of compassion, humility, and generosity.

Originally called the Virginia McKnight Binger Awards in Human Service, the award has honored more than 280 people since it was first presented in 1985.

The Minnesota Council of Nonprofits opens the nomination process every April and announces the winners in early September. Contact the council for more information.