تخطى الى المحتوى

التاريخ

قام وليام ل. ماكنايت وزوجته ، مود ل. ماكنايت ، بتأسيس مؤسسة ماكنايت في مينيابوليس في عام 1953. أحد القادة الأوائل لشركة 3M ، قام السيد ماكنايت بالانتقال من مساعد أمين الصندوق إلى الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي ورئيس مجلس الإدارة في حياة مهنية امتدت 59 عامًا ، من 1907 إلى 1966. لا تزال فلسفته حول مبادرة الموظفين وابتكارهم في توجيه العديد من الشركات الرائدة اليوم.

مؤسسة ماكنايت هي مؤسسة خيرية خاصة مستقلة. لا ينتمي مع 3M.

في عام 1974 ، بعد وفاة زوجته بفترة قصيرة ، طلب مكنايت من طفلهما الوحيد ، فيرجينيا ماكنايت بينغر ، قيادة المؤسسة. من خلال العمل مع راسل إوالد كمديرة تنفيذية ، أنشأت السيدة بينجر برنامج المنح الرسمي والمناهج المجتمعية التي لا تزال جزءًا من إرث المؤسسة.

تعكس برامج منح McKnight عقودًا وأجيالًا من مختلف الاهتمامات والاستثمارات. يواصل أعضاء الجيل الرابع من هذه المؤسسة العائلية الخاصة نشاطهم في مجلس الأمناء.

Virginia Mcknight headshot

جوائز فرجينيا ماكنايت بينجر أونونسو هيرو

كل عام ، تكرّم مؤسسة McKnight ومجلس Minnesota للمنظمات غير الربحية أربعة من مواطني Minnesotans الذين يعطون أنانية لمجتمعاتنا.

تم تسمية الجائزة لفيرجينيا ماكنايت بينغر ، أول رئيس مجلس إدارة للمؤسسة والابنة الوحيدة لمؤسسي ماكنايت. توفيت السيدة بينجر في عام 2002 ، وهذه الجائزة تساعدنا على تذكر روحها الدائمة من الرحمة والتواضع والكرم.

سميت في الأصل جوائز Virginia McKnight Binger في الخدمة الإنسانية ، وقد كرمت الجائزة أكثر من 280 شخصًا منذ تقديمها لأول مرة في عام 1985.

الترشيحات مفتوحة الآن حتى 31 مايو.

رشح بطل Unsung

العربية
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ العربية

Skip to content

History

William L. McKnight and his wife, Maude L. McKnight, established the McKnight Foundation in Minneapolis in 1953. One of the early leaders of 3M, Mr. McKnight rose from assistant bookkeeper to president, CEO, and board chair in a career that spanned 59 years, from 1907 to 1966. His philosophy on employee initiative and innovation still guides many leading businesses today.

The McKnight Foundation is an independent private philanthropic organization; it is not affiliated with 3M.

In 1974, shortly after his wife’s death, McKnight asked their only child, Virginia McKnight Binger, to lead the Foundation. Working with Russell Ewald as executive director, Mrs. Binger established the formal grantmaking program and community-based approach that remain a part of the Foundation’s legacy.

McKnight’s grant programs reflect decades, and generations, of diverse interests and investments. Fourth-generation members of this private family foundation continue to be active on the board of trustees.

Virginia Mcknight headshot

Virginia McKnight Binger Unsung Hero Awards

Each year, the McKnight Foundation and the Minnesota Council of Nonprofits honor four Minnesotans who give selflessly to our communities.

The award is named for Virginia McKnight Binger, the Foundation’s first board chair and the only daughter of McKnight’s founders. Mrs. Binger passed away in 2002, and this award helps us remember her enduring spirit of compassion, humility, and generosity.

Originally called the Virginia McKnight Binger Awards in Human Service, the award has honored more than 280 people since it was first presented in 1985.

The Minnesota Council of Nonprofits opens the nomination process every April and announces the winners in early September. Contact the council for more information.