跳到内容

治理

我们对透明度的承诺

基金会绩效评估

有效慈善中心是一家独立的非营利性研究组织,负责进行受让人调查 关于我们的资助过程,沟通和整体影响。它每三年生成一次受赠人感知报告。这些报告的最后三个可以在这里找到:

2016年受赠人感知报告
2013年受赠人感知报告
2010年受赠人感知报告

董事会治理

作为家庭基金会,McKnight由最多12人组成的董事会管理,其中包括作为创始人和社区(即非家庭)董事后代的董事。在确定新的社区董事会成员时,McKnight董事会会考虑潜在董事的技能和经验,以及这些技能如何补充董事会已有的专业知识。社区成员任期三年;连续三个学期后需要一年的中断。

董事会已经特许五个委员会协助其履行职责:审计/财务委员会(预算,年度审计,财务审查),执行委员会(主席支持,年度总裁审查以及董事会会议之间的关键行动),治理委员会(董事会组成和效力),投资委员会(投资和信托事务)和任务投资委员会(影响投资机会,计量吸入器和PRI)。

薪酬哲学

McKnight基金会旨在维持一致,公平和有竞争力的总薪酬计划,吸引并保留高素质的员工,以推进基金会的使命。基金会使用私人基金会的补偿和福利数据,其资产规模与McKnight的资产相近,作为基准组织。

利益冲突政策

虽然基金会承认可能会不时发生潜在的利益冲突,但我们会尽一切努力通过全面披露来管理这些利益冲突。在其他程序中,所有McKnight董事会和工作人员都必须每年填写一份利益冲突声明。

以下是我们员工手册的摘录:

利益冲突声明将确定可能导致实际或感知到的个人或资助冲突的关系。基金会主席,高级领导团队和董事会将审查已完成的利益冲突声明的摘要。

如果您有实际或感知到的个人或资助利益冲突,您应该披露它们并回避涉及这些方的讨论和决策。只要有可能,应在会议纪要中注明此类披露和回避。同样,当有关基金会的讨论发生在与员工或董事会成员有联系的组织内时,员工或董事会成员应该回避此类讨论。

一般而言,计划员工及其直系亲属不得在其计划领域的资助组合中与受助人或潜在的受助组织建立个人关系。

多元化承诺

麦克奈特基金会致力于将多元化,公平和包容作为核心价值观。  

多样:我们欣赏并利用我们的分歧;我们参与并反映我们所服务的社区。

公平:我们调整我们的政策,实践和资源,以便所有种族,文化和社会经济地位的人都有真正的发展机会。

入选:我们创造一个让每个人都感到受到重视和尊重的环境。

这一承诺对于深化我们的相关性,可信度和有效性至关重要,它将加强我们改善今世后代生活的努力。我们家乡明尼苏达州的公民和经济活力,被称为 Mni Sota Makoce 达科他州取决于每个人的包容性和公平机会。

阅读全文 声明.

财务信息

可以找到McKnight的最新财务报表,年度审计和税务信息 这里.

投资政策

McKnight的投资政策声明可用 这里。

举报程序

McKnight为员工提供系统,通过内部渠道和保密热线提出问题。

以下是我们的员工手册中关于我们如何处理举报程序的政策:

麦克奈特基金会致力于最高标准的开放性,诚信和责任。

问责制和透明度的一个重要方面是使您和其他员工能够以负责任和有效的方式表达关切的机制。

1999年生效的“公共利益披露法”为员工提供法律保护,使其免受雇主因公开披露某些严重问题而被解雇或处罚。应该强调的是,这项政策旨在帮助那些相信他们的人。发现了医疗事故或不当行为。它不是为了质疑基金会所做的财务或业务决策,也不应该用于重新考虑在骚扰,投诉,纪律处分或其他程序中已经解决的任何事项。如果可能,基金会会要求您在内部表达您的投诉,并让基金会有机会解决它。如果无法做到,请使用保密热线。请点击此链接,了解有关如何访问热线以及共享问题后可以获得的信息。

政策范围

此政策旨在使您或其他员工能够在内部和高层提出问题,并披露您认为存在不当行为或不当行为的信息。本政策旨在涵盖符合公众利益的问题,至少最初可能会单独调查,但可能导致其他程序的调用,例如
惩戒。这些担忧可能包括:

  • 财务弊端或不当或欺诈
  • 未遵守法律义务或法规
  • 危害健康与安全或环境
  • 犯罪活动
  • 不当行为或不道德的行为
  • 试图隐藏上面列出的任何项目

无报复和其他员工保护
一个。保护。如果您披露此类问题,此政策旨在为您提供保护
如果披露是:

  • 真诚;
  • 合理地相信它往往表现出渎职或不当行为;
  • 给适当的人(见下文)。

任何员工都不会因违反联邦,州或地方法律或规则而向基金会管理层或执法机构或其他政府机构提交善意举报而受到报复。

湾保密。麦克奈特基金会将尽可能保密地处理所有此类披露。

C。匿名指控。该政策鼓励个人将其姓名用于他们所做的任何披露。匿名表达的担忧难以调查。

披露程序
基金会鼓励员工真诚地相信违反联邦,州或当地法律或规则的行为将此知识报告给运营副总裁,除非投诉是针对运营副总裁或与行动有任何关联运营副总裁。在这种情况下,投诉应传递给财务和合规副总裁或总统。

大体时间
由于这些投诉的性质多种多样,可能涉及内部调查员和/或警方,因此无法为此类调查制定精确的时间表。调查官员应确保尽快进行调查,而不影响调查的质量和深度。

the glasspockets logo which has a blue background and black and white writing

透明和负责任
除了90多个其他基金会外,麦克奈特基金会也是其中的一员 Glasspockets计划,它从慈善领域获得更大的开放性。在这里,我们介绍我们的治理政策和实践。

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Governance

Our Commitment to Transparency

Assessment of Foundation Performance

The Center for Effective Philanthropy, an independent nonprofit research group, conducts a grantee survey about our grantmaking process, communications, and overall impact. It generates a Grantee Perception Report every three years. The last three of these reports can be found here:

2016 Grantee Perception Report
2013 Grantee Perception Report
2010 Grantee Perception Report

Board Governance

As a family foundation, McKnight is governed by a board of up to 12 that includes directors who are descendants of the founders as well as community (i.e., non-family) directors. In identifying new community board members, McKnight’s board considers prospective directors’ skills and experience, as well as how those skills will complement expertise already on the board. Community members serve three-year terms; a one-year hiatus is required after three terms in a row.

The board of directors has chartered five committees to assist it in fulfilling its duties: Audit/Finance Committee (annual audit, financial review), Executive Committee (support for chair, annual president’s review, and critical action between board meetings), Governance Committee (board composition and effectiveness), Investment Committee (budget, investment, fiduciary matters), and Mission Investing Committee (impact investing opportunities, MDIs, and PRIs).

Compensation Philosophy

The McKnight Foundation aims to maintain a consistent, fair, and competitive total compensation program that attracts, and retains a highly qualified staff to advance the mission of the Foundation. The Foundation uses compensation and benefit data from private foundations with asset size in a reasonable proximity to the assets of McKnight as benchmark organizations.

Conflict of Interest Policy

While the Foundation acknowledges that potential conflicts of interest may occur from time to time, we make every effort to manage them through full disclosure. Among other procedures, all McKnight board and staff members are required to complete a Conflict of Interest Statement every year. The Conflict of Interest Statement identifies relationships that may lead to an actual or perceived personal or grantmaking conflict.

Diversity Commitment

The McKnight Foundation is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion as core values.  

Diversity: We appreciate and leverage our differences; and we involve and reflect the communities we serve.

Equity: We align our policies, practices, and resources so that people of all races, cultures, and socioeconomic statuses have genuine opportunities to thrive.

Inclusion: We create an environment in which everyone feels valued and respected.

This commitment is critical to deepening our relevance, credibility, and effectiveness, and it will strengthen our efforts to improve the lives of present and future generations. The civic and economic vitality of our home state of Minnesota, known as Mni Sota Makoce by the Dakota, depends on inclusive and equitable opportunities for everyone.

Read the full statement.

Financial Information

McKnight’s most recent financial statements, annual audit, and tax information can be found here.

Investment Policy

McKnight’s Investment Policy Statement is available here.

Whistleblower Procedures

McKnight has systems in place for employees to raise issues through internal channels and via a confidential hotline.

Here is an excerpt from our Employee Handbook on how we handle whistleblower procedures:

The McKnight Foundation is committed to the highest standards of openness, probity, and accountability.

An important aspect of accountability and transparency is a mechanism to enable you and other employees to voice concerns in a responsible and effective manner.

The Public Interest Disclosure Act, which came into effect in 1999, gives legal protection to employees against being dismissed or penalized by their employers as a result of publicly disclosing certain serious concerns It should be emphasized that this policy is intended to assist individuals who believe they have discovered malpractice or impropriety. It is not designed to question financial or business decisions taken by the Foundation nor should it be used to reconsider any matters which have already been addressed under harassment, complaint, disciplinary, or other procedures. We ask that you voice your complaint internally and give the Foundation a chance to address it.

To receive a copy of the full excerpt, contact our human resources generalist. 

Transparent and Accountable
Along with more than 90 other foundations, the McKnight Foundation is part of the Glasspockets Initiative, which champions greater openness from the field of philanthropy. Here, we present our governance policies and practices.