跳到内容

大都会社区开发商联盟 (MCCD)

类型: 低于市场投资,高影响投资

话题: 建筑与住宅

MCCD 向个体企业家和小企业提供小额贷款,这些企业和小企业的规模不足以获得商业银行或已建立的社区发展金融机构 (CDFI)。这些早期企业通常是少数族裔、移民或女性拥有的企业。 MCCD 是一个会员制组织,其中包括许多基于文化的业务开发人员。他们专门在土著、移民和有色人种社区内工作,以提供资金、技术援助和培训。

investment icon

投资

$1万元10年期贷款2%;起源于2019年

由于 Covid-19,麦克奈特将利率永久降低至 0.75 个基点,以与 10 年期国债利率保持一致,并在支付一年的利息时提供灵活性。

rationale icon

合理

作为小额贷款专家,MCCD 每年会见 1,000 名企业家,并为小型企业提供 8,000 小时的直接咨询。它对文化特性的关注导致在郊区与强大的移民社区建立了牢固的伙伴关系。其信用建设者贷款的 92% 被授予致力于提高或建立信用评分并弥合财务差距的少数族裔企业家。这些贷款是短期和零利息的;非常适合禁止高利贷的文化社区,以及有现金储蓄但无法获得信贷的无证居民。

returns icon

返回

说得太早

lessons learned icon

得到教训

在金融危机期间,小企业可能难以支付每月的贷款分期付款。与此同时,CDFI 反过来又要挣扎,因为它们依靠这些贷款的利息来支付管理费用。出于这个原因,慈善赠款与用于贷款的额外债务资本一起变得尤为重要。

照片来源: Metropolitan Consortium of Community Developers,以支持的商业精品肉为特色。

免责声明: McKnight基金会不认可或推荐任何商业产品,流程或服务提供商。

最后更新 10/2021

简体中文

Skip to content

Metropolitan Consortium of Community Developers (MCCD)

MCCD provides small loans to individual entrepreneurs and small businesses that have not grown large enough to access commercial banks or established Community Development Financial Institutions (CDFIs). These early businesses are often minority-, immigrant-, or women-owned ventures. MCCD is a membership-based organization, including many cultural-based business developers. They work specifically within Indigenous, immigrant and communities of color to provide capital, technical assistance, and training.

investment icon

Investment

$1 million 10-year loan at 2%; originated in 2019

Due to Covid-19, McKnight reduced the interest rate permanently to 0.75 basis points to align with the 10-year Treasury rate and provide flexibility while interest payments for one year.

rationale icon

Rationale

An expert in micro-lending, MCCD meets with 1,000 entrepreneurs a year and provides 8,000 hours of direct consulting to small businesses. Its focus on cultural specificity has resulted in strong partnerships in suburban areas with robust immigrant communities. Ninety-two percent of its credit builder loans are awarded to minority entrepreneurs striving to improve or establish their credit scores and bridge financial gaps. These loans are short term and zero interest; well suited for cultural communities that have usury prohibitions, and undocumented residents who have cash savings but no access to credit.

returns icon

Returns

Too early to tell

lessons learned icon

Lessons Learned

During a financial crisis, small businesses may struggle to pay their monthly loan installments. Meanwhile, CDFIs struggle in turn as they rely on the interest from these loans to pay their overhead. For this reason, philanthropic grants become particularly important alongside additional debt capital for lending.

Photo Credit: Metropolitan Consortium of Community Developers, featuring supported business Finer Meats.

Disclaimer of Endorsement: The McKnight Foundation does not endorse or recommend any commercial products, processes, or service providers.

Last updated 10/2021

English