跳到内容

Midwestern BioAg

Midwestern BioAg与生产商合作实现 通过更好的土壤改善耕作™。更健康的土壤减少了氮和磷的使用,使更清洁的水流入密西西比河及其支流。

investment icon

投资

500万美元的直接股权投资;起源于2016年

rationale icon

合理

以农民为中心的企业,帮助生产者增加产量,增加利润和改善土壤健康。鉴于农业径流是密西西比河污染的罪魁祸首, MBA的 成功直接映射到McKnight计划的目标,以恢复美国标志性河流的水质和恢复力。

returns icon

返回

评估财务或环境回报的时间太早。 MBA致力于第三方科学研究其产品和服务的影响。

2017年,MBA开设了一家新工厂,生产标准化零售肥料 TerraNu™。与印第安纳州一个大型农场的运行生物消化器同处一地,这是循环过程的最后一步,首先将动物粪便转化为能量,然后是土壤增强的有机肥料。

lessons learned icon

得到教训

多年来,农业投入业务一直相对静止,由几家大公司控制。 MBA在一个有趣的市场中运作,提供适当的产量和环境效益,其方法可以用于有机和大规模的传统农业。

免责声明: McKnight基金会不认可或推荐任何商业产品,流程或服务提供商。

上次更新时间:11月

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Midwestern BioAg works with producers to achieve better farming through better soil™. Healthier soil reduces applications of nitrogen and phosphorous, allowing cleaner water to drain into the Mississippi River and its tributaries.

Investment

$5 million direct equity investment; originated in 2016

Rationale

Farmer-centric business to help producers grow yields, increase profits and improve soil health. Given that agricultural runoff is the main culprit of Mississippi River pollution, MBA’s success maps directly onto the goals of McKnight’s program to restore the water quality and resilience of America’s iconic river.

Returns

Too early to evaluate financial or environmental returns. MBA is committed to third-party scientific research on the impact of its products and services.

In 2017, MBA opened a new facility to produce its standardized retail fertilizer TerraNu™. Co-located with an operating biodigester on a large Indiana farm, it is the final step in a circular process that turns animal waste first into energy and then a soil-enhancing organic fertilizer.

Lessons Learned

For many years the agricultural input business has been relatively static, controlled by several large corporations. MBA is operating in an interesting market niche providing both appropriate yield and environmental benefits with an approach that can work for both organic and large-scale conventional farming.

As of November 2017

Disclaimer of Endorsement: The McKnight Foundation does not endorse or recommend any commercial products, processes, or service providers.