跳到内容

金融服务客户

凭借价值超过22亿美元的捐赠基金,麦克奈特基金会是基金经理的重要客户。我们可以利用这一职位促进我们聘用的资产管理者对环境,社会和公司治理(ESG)问题的综合思考。

我们是这样做的:

评估和评分

评估并评估我们所有的投资经理 环境,社会和治理(ESG)能力.

提出问题

在新经理人搜索和面对面会议中提出有关ESG能力的问题。这种直接问题的简单行为导致我们对经理人的投资方式有了更深入的了解,并能促进变革。在过去几年中,六位经理引入了新的ESG基金或正在制定新战略。

与合作伙伴互动

顾问 印记资本 美世 帮助了解我们的影响力投资方法,为基金会员工提供建议并进行尽职调查。 Imprint在帮助McKnight建立强大的管道以平衡风险与财务,学习和影响回报方面起着主要作用。

我们的基金经理也是重要的思想伙伴。 2013年, 梅隆资本管理公司 创建了碳效率战略,这是一个多元化的股票基金。凭借来自McKnight的1亿美元种子资金,梅隆建立了一个模型,该模型超过了温室气体的高效发电机,并低估了效率低下的生产商。它也不包括煤矿公司。该流程在梅隆内创造了新的ESG能力,并为机构投资者推出了新产品:客户和基金经理的双赢。这表明投资者如何有能力建立新市场。 (注:BNY Mellon制作了相关案例研究, 价值链分析:碳效率战略的伙伴关系, 2016年5月。)

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Customer of Financial Services

With an endowment valued at more than $2.3 billion, the McKnight Foundation is a substantial client for fund managers. We can use this position to promote integrated thinking on environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) issues among the asset managers we hire.

Here’s how we do it:

Evaluate and Rate

Evaluate and rate all our investment managers on their Environmental, Social, & Governance (ESG) capabilities.

Pose Questions

Pose questions about ESG capability in new manager searches and in-person meetings. This simple act of asking direct questions has led to a deeper understanding of how our managers invest, and can prompt change. In the last several years six managers have introduced new ESG funds or are building new strategies.

Engage with Partners

Consultants Imprint Capital and Mercer have helped inform our impact investing approach, advising Foundation staff and conducting due diligence. Imprint play a primary role in helping McKnight build a robust pipeline that balances risk with financial, learning, and impact returns.

Our fund managers are important thought partners too. In 2013, Mellon Capital Management created the Carbon Efficiency Strategy, a diversified equities fund. With $100 million in seed funding from McKnight, Mellon built a model that overweights efficient generators of greenhouse gas and underweights inefficient producers. It also excludes coal mining companies. The process created new ESG capacity within Mellon and launched a new product for institutional investors: a win-win for customer and fund manager. This demonstrates how investors have the power to build new markets. (NOTE: BNY Mellon produced a related case study, Value Chain Analysis: Partnership for a Carbon Efficiency Strategy, in May 2016.)