تخطى الى المحتوى

مساهم في الشركات

تجعل استثماراتنا مؤسسة McKnight مؤسسة جزئية للعديد من الشركات الأمريكية والعالمية ، مما يؤهلنا للتأثير على ممارسات الشركات. تسمى هذه الاستراتيجية للتغيير التدريجي مشاركة المستثمر - تحسين ما تملكه. يوجد في جميع أنحاء العالم شبكة متنامية من المستثمرين النشطين والمستفيدين الذين يستخدمون تريليونات الدولارات لبناء اقتصاد أكثر شفافية واستدامة.

تحسين ما نملكه

التحدي: بيانات انبعاثات الدفيئة غير المكشوف عنها

تستثمر شركة McKnight 100 مليون دولار في صندوق لمؤشر يميز الشركات التي تنتج غازات الدفيئة أكثر من نظرائها في القطاع ، استراتيجية كفاءة الكربون. ومع ذلك ، لا تقدم جميع الشركات تقارير ، لذلك نحن نعتمد غالبًا على البيانات المقدرة.

الحل: اطلب بيانات أفضل

في عام 2015 نحن كتب إلى أكثر من 170 شركة في القطاعات كثيفة الكربون لإعلامهم بأننا نحتاج إلى بيانات أفضل لاتخاذ القرارات المتعلقة بالاستثمار. في عام 2016 ، انضممنا إلى مؤسستين تدعمان أيضًا الأسواق الأكثر شفافية صندوق الأخوة روكفلر و ال مؤسسة ناثان كامينغز.

في عام 2018 ، انضم McKnight مناخ العمل 100+. واحدة من عدد قليل من المؤسسات بين 225 مشاركًا من المستثمرين ، سوف ندخل في حوار مع واحد من أكبر 100 من بواعث غازات الدفيئة العالمية من أجل دفع التغيير. وحتى الآن ، قام أكثر من 26.3 تريليون دولار من الأصول الخاضعة للإدارة بالتوقيع على المبادرة.

التحدي: تواجه الشركات مخاطر بيئية واجتماعية

تقليديا ، قد تدفع حوافز السوق بعض المديرين التنفيذيين للشركات إلى التركيز على عوائد مالية قصيرة الأجل وتجاهل المخاطر والفرص طويلة الأجل المتعلقة بالبيئة أو موظفيها أو المجتمعات التي يعملون فيها.

الحل: التصويت كمساهمين

يقدم المساهمون مقترحات في اجتماعات الشركات السنوية لاتخاذ إجراءات بشأن تحديات الأعمال ، مثل تحديد أهداف لخفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة أو ربط الأجر التنفيذي بالأداء البيئي. يصوت McKnight عمومًا لصالح مقترحات المساهمين البيئة والحكم الاجتماعي (ESG) قضايا لتشجيع التفكير على المدى الطويل من قبل الشركات. في جميع "حساباتنا المُدارة بشكل منفصل" (الحسابات التي نتحكم في تصويتها) ، نعتمد على خدمات المساهمين المؤسسيين ونستخدمها SRI Proxy Voting Guidelines.  

في عام 2017 ، طلبت شركة McKnight من المديرين المستثمرين في شركة Southern Company تجاوز التصويت المؤيد للإدارة ومعارضة خطة التعويض في شركة الخدمات الأمريكية الضخمة ، Southern Company. تمت مكافأة المديرين التنفيذيين بشكل لا مبرر له بمكافآت كبيرة على الرغم من التجاوزات وكتابات مشاريع الجيل غير الإستراتيجية التي كانت تكلف حملة الأسهم. قام واحد من مديرينا على الأقل بتغيير وضعه على الصندوق المجمع بالكامل.

العربية
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ العربية

Skip to content

Shareholder of Corporations

Our investments make the McKnight Foundation a partial owner of many US and global companies, positioning us to influence corporate practices. This strategy for incremental change is called investor engagement—improving what you own. Across the globe there is a growing network of engaged, proactive investors using trillions of dollars to build a more transparent, sustainable economy.

Improving What We Own

Challenge: Undisclosed greenhouse emissions data

McKnight invests $100 million in an index fund that underweights companies producing more greenhouse gases than sector peers, the Carbon Efficiency Strategy. However, not all companies report, so we often rely on estimated data.

Solution: Demand better data

In 2015 we wrote to over 170 companies in carbon-intensive sectors to let them know we need better data for investment decision-making. In 2016 we were joined by two foundations that also support more transparent markets, the Rockefeller Brothers Fund and the Nathan Cummings Foundation.

In 2018, McKnight joined Climate Action 100+. One of only a handful of foundations among the 225 investor participants, we will engage in a dialogue with one of the 100 largest global emitters of greenhouse gas in order to drive change. To date, more than $26.3 trillion in assets under management  have signed on to the initiative.

Challenge: Companies face environmental & social risks

Traditionally, market incentives may lead some corporate executives to focus on short-term financial returns and ignore long-term risks and opportunities related to the environment, their employees, or the communities in which they operate.

Solution: Vote as shareholders

Shareholders file proposals at companies’ annual meetings for action on business challenges such as setting targets for reducing greenhouse gas emissions or tying executive pay to environmental performance. McKnight generally votes in favor of shareholder proposals on Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) issues to encourage longer-term thinking by companies. In all of our “separately managed accounts” (accounts whose voting we control), we rely on Institutional Shareholder Services and use its SRI Proxy Voting Guidelines.  

In 2017, McKnight asked managers invested in Southern Company to override pro-management voting and oppose the compensation plan at massive US utility, Southern Company. Executives were unduly rewarded with big bonuses despite overruns and write downs of problematic non-strategic generation projects that were costing shareholders.  At least one of our managers changed it position on the entire pooled fund.