跳到内容

公司股东

我们的投资使麦克奈特基金会成为许多美国和全球公司的部分所有者,使我们能够影响企业实践。这种增量变革战略被称为投资者参与 - 改善您所拥有的。在全球范围内,有越来越多的积极投资的投资者使用数万亿美元来建立一个更加透明,可持续的经济体系。

改善我们拥有的东西

挑战:未公开的温室气体排放数据

麦克奈特投资了1亿美元投资一家指数基金,该基金对产生更多温室气体的公司进行投资,而不是同行业 碳效率战略。但是,并非所有公司都会报告,因此我们经常依赖估算数据。

解决方案:需要更好的数据

在2015年我们 写信给170多家公司 在碳密集型行业让他们知道我们需要更好的数据来进行投资决策。 2016年,我们加入了两个支持更透明市场的基金会 洛克菲勒兄弟基金会内森卡明斯基金会.

2018年,麦克奈特加入 气候行动100+。作为225名投资者参与者中的少数基金会之一,我们将与全球100家最大的温室气体排放国之一进行对话,以推动变革。到目前为止,管理资产已超过26.3万亿美元已签署该计划。

挑战:公司面临环境和社会风险

传统上,市场激励措施可能会导致一些企业高管关注短期财务回报,忽视与环境,员工或其所在社区相关的长期风险和机遇。

解决方案:投票给股东

股东在公司年度会议上提出有关业务挑战的建议,例如设定减少温室气体排放的目标或将高管薪酬与环境绩效挂钩。麦克奈特一般投票支持股东提案 环境,社会和治理(ESG) 鼓励公司长期思考的问题。在我们所有的“独立管理账户”(我们控制投票的账户)中,我们依靠机构股东服务并使用其 SRI代理投票指南。  

2017年,McKnight要求投资南方公司的管理人员推翻亲管理投票,并反对大型美国公用事业公司Southern Company的薪酬计划。尽管存在超支和写下有问题的非战略性发电项目,导致股东损失,但高管们获得了巨额奖金。至少有一位经理改变了对整个集合基金的立场。

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Shareholder of Corporations

Our investments make the McKnight Foundation a partial owner of many US and global companies, positioning us to influence corporate practices. This strategy for incremental change is called investor engagement—improving what you own. Across the globe there is a growing network of engaged, proactive investors using trillions of dollars to build a more transparent, sustainable economy.

Improving What We Own

Challenge: Undisclosed greenhouse emissions data

McKnight invests $100 million in an index fund that underweights companies producing more greenhouse gases than sector peers, the Carbon Efficiency Strategy. However, not all companies report, so we often rely on estimated data.

Solution: Demand better data

In 2015 we wrote to over 170 companies in carbon-intensive sectors to let them know we need better data for investment decision-making. In 2016 we were joined by two foundations that also support more transparent markets, the Rockefeller Brothers Fund and the Nathan Cummings Foundation.

In 2018, McKnight joined Climate Action 100+. One of only a handful of foundations among the 225 investor participants, we will engage in a dialogue with one of the 100 largest global emitters of greenhouse gas in order to drive change. To date, more than $26.3 trillion in assets under management  have signed on to the initiative.

Challenge: Companies face environmental & social risks

Traditionally, market incentives may lead some corporate executives to focus on short-term financial returns and ignore long-term risks and opportunities related to the environment, their employees, or the communities in which they operate.

Solution: Vote as shareholders

Shareholders file proposals at companies’ annual meetings for action on business challenges such as setting targets for reducing greenhouse gas emissions or tying executive pay to environmental performance. McKnight generally votes in favor of shareholder proposals on Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) issues to encourage longer-term thinking by companies. In all of our “separately managed accounts” (accounts whose voting we control), we rely on Institutional Shareholder Services and use its SRI Proxy Voting Guidelines.  

In 2017, McKnight asked managers invested in Southern Company to override pro-management voting and oppose the compensation plan at massive US utility, Southern Company. Executives were unduly rewarded with big bonuses despite overruns and write downs of problematic non-strategic generation projects that were costing shareholders.  At least one of our managers changed it position on the entire pooled fund.