تخطى الى المحتوى

بيلي جيفورد: صندوق EAFE

تعكس محفظة نمو الأسواق المتقدمة غير التابعة للولايات المتحدة تأكيدات بيلي جيفورد بأنها "ليست في مجال إعادة تأهيل السيئ أو المتوسط ، بل تختار بدلاً من ذلك بذل مجهود كبير في تحديد ما هو استثنائي".

investment icon

استثمار

60 مليون دولار ؛ نشأت في عام 2010

rationale icon

المنطق

منذ أن استثمرنا لأول مرة في هذا الصندوق ، بيلي جيفورد قام بتقييم المخاطر والفرص البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة (ESG) في جميع مراحل عملية الاستثمار ، ويضم الآن فريقًا مكونًا من 13 شخصًا يركزون على الحوكمة والاستدامة. في عام 2017 ، أدركنا أن هذا المدير كان مدروسًا حول مخاطر الأعمال غير التقليدية ويتماشى مع مهمة McKnight.

benchmark icon

المعيار

MSCI EAFE

returns icon

عائدات

العوائد المالية: عوائد ممتازة معدلة حسب المخاطر ؛ محفظة من 97 مليون دولار اعتبارا من Q2: 2018.

التأثير الاجتماعي والبيئي: تؤكد بيلي جيفورد على الاتصال الوثيق مع إدارة الشركة ، وتربط بين التصويت بالوكالة بالوكالة والحوار حول القضايا الاجتماعية والبيئية. وتشمل الموضوعات كهربة النقل مع شركات السيارات ، وكفاءة الطاقة للمنتجات مع الشركات الصناعية وأكثر من ذلك. هذه المحفظة تجنبت شركات النفط والغاز منذ عام 2013 ، وشركاتها تنبعث منها غازات الدفيئة أقل بكثير لكل دولار من المبيعات من الشركات في المؤشر.

lessons learned icon

الدروس المستفادة

تعطي عملية ESG نتائج مختلفة لمديري الصناديق المختلفين. قد نخدش رؤوسنا بأسماء أسهم محددة لا تتوافق مع أولويات McKnight الخاصة ، مثل فيراري. ومع ذلك ، كمستثمر في الأسهم العامة ، نريد مدراء يفهمون تعقيدات الاستدامة. في الآونة الأخيرة ، باع الصندوق شركة Aggrekko ، وهي الشركة التي تصنع المولدات المؤقتة (والتي غالباً ما تلوث الديزل) ، وأضاف شركة Umicore التي يتمثل نشاطها الأساسي في إعادة تدوير المعادن وكهرباء المعدات. تنوع الفكر في ESG ينتج استثمارات متنوعة ، وهو أمر جيد للهبات لدينا.

إخلاء مسؤولية المصادقة: لا تدعم McKnight Foundation أو توصي بأي منتجات أو عمليات أو مزودي خدمة تجاريين.

آخر تحديث 8/27/2019

العربية
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ العربية

Skip to content

Baillie Gifford: EAFE Fund

This non-US developed market growth portfolio reflects Baillie Gifford’s assertion that it is “not in the business of rehabilitating the bad or the average, choosing instead to invest great effort identifying the extraordinary.”

investment icon

Investment

$60 million; originated in 2010

rationale icon

Rationale

Since we first invested in this fund, Baillie Gifford has embedded evaluation of environmental, social and governance (ESG) risks and opportunities across its investment process and now has a team of 13 focusing on governance and sustainability. In 2017, we recognized that this manager was thoughtful about nontraditional business risks and aligned with McKnight’s mission.

benchmark icon

Benchmark

MSCI EAFE

returns icon

Returns

Financial Returns: Excellent risk-adjusted returns; portfolio of $97 million as of Q2: 2018.

Social & Environmental Impact: Baillie Gifford emphasizes close contact with company management, coupling active proxy voting with dialogue about social and environmental issues. Topics include the electrification of transportation with car companies, the energy efficiency of products with industrial companies and more. This portfolio has avoided oil and gas companies since 2013, and its companies emit far less greenhouse gases per dollar of sales than companies in the benchmark.

lessons learned icon

Lessons Learned

An ESG process yields different results for different fund managers. We may scratch our heads over specific stock names that are not aligned with McKnight’s particular priorities, like Ferrari.  However, as an investor in public equities, we want managers who understand the complexities of sustainability.  Recently the fund sold Aggrekko, a company that manufactured temporary generators (which are often polluting diesel), and added Umicore whose core business is recycling metals and electrification of equipment.  The diversity of thought in ESG produces diverse investments, which is good for our endowment.

Disclaimer of Endorsement: The McKnight Foundation does not endorse or recommend any commercial products, processes, or service providers.

Last updated 2/27/2019

English
˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México كِسوَهِل Hmoob አማርኛ English