Skip to content

McKnight Artist Fellowships

Working artists activate our communities and deepen the dimension and quality of our lives.

McKnight Artist FellowshipsSupport for individual artists has been a focus of the McKnight Foundation’s Arts & Culture program since its inception. McKnight Artist Fellowships increase the exploratory opportunity, economic stability, and productive capacity of artists by providing $25,000 in unrestricted support for midcareer artists and discipline-specific artistic and professional development opportunities.

How to Apply

Contact one of our fellowship program partners below for discipline-specific deadlines, guidelines, and further information.

Book Artists

Minnesota Center for Book Arts

Fellowships: Two $25,000 Awards.

Ceramic Artists

Northern Clay Center

Fellowships: Two $25,000 Awards.
Residencies: $5,000 for a 3-month residency in Minnesota, plus $300 for a public workshop.


The Cowles Center

Fellowships: Three $25,000 awards.


American Composers Forum

Fellowships: Four $25,000 awards, plus one month at an artist residency site.
Residencies: $15,000 for a two-month residency in Minnesota.


The Cowles Center

Fellowships: Three $25,000 awards.

Fiber Artists

Textile Center

Fellowships: Two $25,000 awards.

Media Artists


Fellowships: Four $25,000 awards.


MacPhail Center for Music

Fellowships: Four $25,000 awards, plus an optional $2,500 each for a community project. Five additional finalists receive $1,000 for audition.


The Playwrights’ Center

Fellowships: Two $25,000 awards.
National residency and commission: $12,500 award for a residency in Minnesota.


Highpoint Center for Printmaking

Fellowships: Two $25,000 awards.

Theater Artists

The Playwrights’ Center

Fellowships: Three $25,000 awards to actors, directors, theatrical designers, and others whose main body of work is primarily an element of theater production.

Visual Artists

Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Fellowships: Six $25,000 awards.


The Loft

Fellowships: Four $25,000 awards to writers of poetry or prose in alternating years. One award of $25,000 to a writer of children’s literature.