DeAnna Cummings kam im Juni 2020 als zu McKnight Kunstprogramm Direktor. McKnight basiert auf der Überzeugung, dass Minnesota gedeiht, wenn seine Künstler gedeihen, und investiert in die Kunst und andere Sektoren, um die arbeitenden Künstler des Staates zu unterstützen und sich für den Wert ihrer Arbeit einzusetzen.

Cummings ist Mitbegründer und CEO von Gegenüberstellung der Künste (JXTA), ein soziales Unternehmen in Nord-Minneapolis, das historisch unterschätzte Jugendliche als Sprungbrett für Hochschulbildung und Karriere in Kunst und Design ausbildet und beschäftigt. JXTA wurde 1995 als außerschulisches Programm im Stadtteil Sumner-Glenwood der North Side gegründet und hat sich zu einer der wichtigsten Kulturinstitutionen in den Partnerstädten entwickelt.

Vor der Gründung von JXTA war Cummings Programmbeauftragter des Metropolitan Regional Arts Council und leitender Administrator des Council on Black Minnesotans, seitdem er in Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage umbenannt wurde.

Cummings ist seit 2013 Mitglied des Kuratoriums der Bush Foundation. Sie ist 2016 Minneapolis / St. Paul Business Journal Preisträgerin von Women in Business und Kunstheldin des Minnesota Public Radio 2013. Von 2016 bis 2018 war sie DeVos Institute Fellow im selektiven Stipendienprogramm für Kunstmanagement an der University of Maryland, College Park. Sie hat einen Master in öffentlicher Verwaltung von der Harvard University und studierte Soziologie und Psychologie an der University of Minnesota.

DeAnna Cummings joined McKnight in June 2020 as Arts program director. Founded on the belief that Minnesota thrives when its artists thrive, McKnight invests in the arts and other sectors to support the state’s working artists and advocate for the value of their work.

Cummings is a cofounder and served as the CEO of Juxtaposition Arts (JXTA), a social enterprise business in north Minneapolis that trains and employs historically underestimated youth as a springboard to higher education and careers in art and design. Established in 1995 as an after-school program in the North Side’s Sumner-Glenwood neighborhood, JXTA has become one of the most important cultural institutions in the Twin Cities.

Prior to cofounding JXTA, Cummings served as a program officer for the Metropolitan Regional Arts Council and as a senior administrator for the Council on Black Minnesotans, since renamed the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage.

Cummings has served on the Bush Foundation’s board of trustees since 2013. She is a 2016 Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal Women in Business awardee and a Minnesota Public Radio 2013 Arts Hero. From 2016 to 2018, she was a DeVos Institute Fellow in the selective fellowship program in arts management at the University of Maryland, College Park. She holds a master’s in public administration from Harvard University and studied sociology and psychology at the University of Minnesota.