跳到内容

密西西比河

关于该计划的公告:

近30年来,密西西比河计划一直致力于恢复这条伟大的美国水道的水质和恢复能力。

2019年8月,经过深思熟虑,McKnight的董事会决定 重新调整其资助 和日落密西西比河计划。

之前获得的补助金在计划完成之前仍然有效。 但是,我们不接受任何新的资助建议。

扩大中西部气候与能源计划 和新兴的 该计划侧重于公平的社区 将在2020年秋季公布新的指导方针。符合新指南的河流受助者可以申请新的资金。

麦克奈特基金会致力于负责任地减少我们的资助,并与受助者合作以缓解过渡期。我们感谢您的合作伙伴关系,并为迈向更健康,更具韧性的密西西比河所取得的实质性进展感到自豪。

计划目标:恢复密西西比河的水质和恢复力。

密西西比河贯穿整个明尼苏达州和中西部的经济和社会结构。近一半的国家依赖于广阔的河流及其支流。

土着人民是第一批抵达密西西比河流域的人。几千年来,他们的村庄点缀着河岸,因为他们依靠水来捕鱼,耕种和运输。

几个世纪以来,沿河的文化蓬勃发展。它为美国数百万人提供淡水,以及航行路线和娱乐机会。密西西比河流域包括一些地球上最肥沃的土壤,在美国产出92%的农业出口。

这条河及其洪泛平原和湿地还拥有广泛的绿色基础设施网络,维持着重要的生态系统服务,如洪水管理,地下水补给以及鱼类和野生动物的栖息地。农业和其他土地利用是这些生态系统服务和河流整体健康的关键驱动因素。

但密西西比河的好处并不均匀。一些社区从生产性土壤和娱乐机会中繁荣起来,而另一些社区则面临工业毒素,污染饮用水和加剧的洪水的挑战。

我们寻求恢复密西西比河,并确保为美国中心地区的社区提供清洁,富有弹性的河流系统。

密西西比河

2018年的资助计划查看最近的拨款

105资助 

$10中号支付

简体中文
English ˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ 简体中文

Skip to content

Mississippi River

An Announcement about the Program:

For nearly 30 years, the Mississippi River program has invested in restoring the water quality and resiliency of this great American waterway.

In August 2019, after thoughtful deliberation, McKnight’s board of directors decided to refocus its grantmaking and sunset the Mississippi River program.

Previously awarded grants remain in effect until their scheduled completion. We are not, however, accepting any new proposals for funding.

The expanded Midwest Climate & Energy program and the emerging program focused on equitable communities will announce new guidelines in fall 2020. River grantees who fit the new guidelines may apply for new funding.

The McKnight Foundation is committed to responsibly winding down our grantmaking and working with grantees to ease the transition. We are grateful for your partnership and proud of the substantial progress toward a healthier and more resilient Mississippi River.

Program Goal: Restore the water quality and resilience of the Mississippi River.

The Mississippi River is woven throughout the economic and social fabric of Minnesota and the Midwest. Nearly half the country depends on the vast river and its tributaries.

Indigenous peoples were the first to arrive in the Mississippi River watershed. For thousands of years, their villages dotted the riverbanks, as they relied on the water for fishing, farming, and transportation.

For centuries, cultures have flourished along the river. It provides freshwater to millions of people in the United States, as well as navigation routes and recreational opportunities. The Mississippi River basin includes some of the most fertile soils on earth, and produces 92 percent of agricultural exports in the United States.

The river, along with its floodplains and wetlands, also hosts an extensive network of green infrastructure, sustaining vital ecosystem services such as floodwater management, groundwater recharge, and habitat for fish and wildlife. Agriculture and other land uses are key drivers of those ecosystem services and the overall health of the river.

But the benefits of the Mississippi River are not evenly distributed. Some communities have prospered from the productive soils and recreational opportunities while others are challenged by industrial toxins, polluted drinking water, and exacerbated flooding.

We seek to restore the Mississippi River and to ensure a clean, resilient river system for communities across the American heartland.

Mississippi River

2018 Grantmaking at a GlanceView Recent Grants

105Grants 

$10MPayments

English
˜اَف صَومالي Deutsch Français العربية 简体中文 ພາສາລາວ Tiếng Việt हिन्दी 한국어 ភាសាខ្មែរ Tagalog Español de Perú Español de México Hmoob አማርኛ English