انضم بول روجي إلى McKnight في يوليو 2021 كمسؤول برامج أول لبرنامجها الدولي. يقود روجيه ويطور أبحاث العلوم الفيزيائية الحيوية في البرنامج التعاوني لأبحاث المحاصيل التابع للمؤسسة ، والذي يعمل مع صغار المزارعين والمؤسسات البحثية ومنظمات التنمية لتحسين الوصول إلى الغذاء المحلي والمستدام والمغذي وإنشاء نظام غذائي عالمي عادل.

قبل مجيئه إلى McKnight ، كان روجي أستاذًا ومستشارًا للأبحاث في كلية ميريت في أوكلاند ، كاليفورنيا ، حيث قام بتدريس دورات في الإيكولوجيا الزراعية الحضرية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، شغل روجيه منصب نائب رئيس لجنة المناهج بالكلية.

في السابق ، أثناء بحثه لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في أواكساكا بالمكسيك ، أجرى روجيه بحثًا تشاركيًا ركز على المزارعين واستخدم أساليب فيزيائية حيوية متعددة التخصصات. قام عمله بعد الدكتوراه في ملاوي بتقييم إمكانات المحاصيل الغذائية الأساسية الدائمة. كما سعى إلى الجمع بين صغار المزارعين والباحثين في كاليفورنيا لفهم أفضل لكيفية تأثير أنظمة الحراثة المختلفة على صحة التربة. لأكثر من 20 عامًا ، كان تركيز روجي هو البحث التعاوني مع المزارعين.

روجي حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في العلوم البيئية والسياسة والإدارة من جامعة كاليفورنيا ، بيركلي. يتكلم أربع لغات. بالإضافة إلى لغته الأولى الإنجليزية والفرنسية ، اكتسب طلاقة في اللغتين الإسبانية والبرتغالية من خلال أبحاث الدكتوراه في المكسيك وسنتين من الإقامة في البرازيل.

تشمل أنشطته المهنية الأخرى العمل كعضو مجلس إدارة في Agroecology Commons و Guerrilla Cartography و Cooperative New School for Urban Studies and Environmental Justice و Golden Gate Cohousing.

Paul Rogé joined McKnight in July 2021 as the senior program officer for its International program. Rogé leads and advances the biophysical science research in the Foundation’s Collaborative Crop Research Program, which works with smallholder farmers, research institutions, and development organizations to improve access to local, sustainable, nutritious food and create a just global food system.

Before coming to McKnight, Rogé was a professor and research advisor at Merritt College in Oakland, CA, where he taught courses in urban agroecology. In addition, Rogé served as vice chair of the college’s curriculum committee.

Previously, during his doctoral research in Oaxaca, Mexico, Rogé conducted participatory research that centered farmers and used transdisciplinary biophysical methods. His postdoctoral work in Malawi assessed the potential for perennial staple food crops. He has also sought to bring small-scale California farmers and researchers together to better understand how different tillage regimes influence soil health. For over 20 years, Rogé’s emphasis has been collaborative research with farmers.

Rogé holds a PhD in enironmental science, policy, and management from the University of California, Berkeley. He speaks four languages. In addition to his first languages of English and French, he gained fluency in Spanish and Portuguese through his doctoral research in Mexico and two years of residence in Brazil.

His other professional activities include serving as a board member for Agroecology Commons, Guerrilla Cartography, Cooperative New School for Urban Studies and Environmental Justice, and Golden Gate Cohousing.