跳到内容

如何申请

McKnight Scholar奖的申请材料每年8月/ 9月提供。申请人必须表现出对解决神经科学相关领域中的重要问题的兴趣。

要申请,首席调查员将需要执行以下步骤:

  • 下载右侧栏上的“应用程序和指南”文档。这些指南将提供有关下列步骤的更多重要细节。请始终参考指南文档。
  • 使用右侧边栏上的“开始申请”链接设置用户名和密码。

(请保留您的用户名和密码以备将来使用)

  • 登录后,填写在线面板。
  • 将整个应用程序上传为一个PDF,包括:
  1. 完成面板。
  2. NIH格式的传记素描。
  3. 拟议研究项目的描述。申请人应根据自己的最佳工作提出实验。提案应以200字以内的摘要介绍,然后详细说明三年研究计划的计划。拟议的研究无需提出全新的研究思路,但不应与其他资助者资助的项目相同。该提案(摘要,叙述和数字,但不包括参考书目)不应超过六页带编号的单行距页面,每页十二点字体,边距为一英寸。
  4. 拟议预算。申请人应说明他/她/他们打算如何使用 McKnight Scholar Award 资金($225,000 在 2022、2023 和 2024 年分期支付 $75,000)。可允许的预算项目包括工资和附加福利、设备、用品、动物成本、技术服务成本等。申请应包括以表格列/美元金额格式的每年的逐项预算;叙述性预算是不可接受的。 资金不能用于间接费用或间接费用。
  5. 有效和待定资金清单(实验室的年度直接费用)。
  6. 赞助机构负责财务官员的声明。
  7. 来自赞助机构的申请人主席的支持信息。
  8. 最近出版的五本
  • 来自熟悉申请人工作的前任教师,主管或高级同事的四个参考资料。 参考信件必须由申请表格中列为参考的四个人单独和保密地发送。

选择过程

McKnight学者奖评审委员会 (将于 2020 年秋季更新)将评估申请并选择数量有限的申请人进行面试。申请人将在 3 月下旬收到通知,面试时间安排在 2022 年 4 月 29 日,星期五,通过 Zoom。

委员会向捐赠基金董事会推荐候选人以作最终决定。奖项将于 2022 年 5 月下旬公布。

合格

在本次比赛中,将从 2022 年 7 月 1 日开始,最多选出六名麦克奈特学者获得三年的支持。

麦克奈特学者奖候选人 必须在美国的非营利研究机构担任独立研究员,并且必须担任助理教授职级的教职员工,并且在申请截止日期前担任该职级的时间不得超过四年(育儿假可能有例外)。那些拥有研究助理教授、兼职助理教授、教授研究方向、客座教授或讲师等其他头衔的人不符合资格,并且在这些职位上的服务时间不计入确定资格的四年服务。如果主办机构不使用教授头衔,则机构高级官员(例如院长或研究主任)的信函必须确认申请人拥有自己的专用机构资源、实验室空间和/或设施。

候选人可能不会再获得麦克奈特神经科学捐赠基金的其他奖项,而该奖项在时间上会与学者奖重叠。候选人不能在两轮以上的比赛中申请“学者奖”。

支持的数量和目的

2022 年、2023 年和 2024 年,每位 McKnight 学者每年将获得 $75,000。资金可以用于促进学者研究计划发展的任何方式,但不能用于间接成本。

申请和指南

下载

在线说明

申请流程完全在线。点击下方访问申请表。

启动应用程序

截止日期

申请截止日期为 2022 年 1 月 10 日。

简体中文

Skip to content

How to Apply

Application materials for the McKnight Scholar Awards are available in August/September each year. Applicants must demonstrate interest in solving important problems in relevant areas of neuroscience.

To apply, the principal investigator will need to follow these steps:

  • Download the “Application and Guidelines” document located on the right sidebar. These guidelines will provide further critical details regarding the steps listed below. Please reference the guidelines document throughout.
  • Set up a username and password using the “Start Application” link located on the right sidebar.

(please retain your username and password for future use)

  • Upon login, complete an online face sheet.
  • Upload the entire application as ONE PDF, including:
  1. Completed face sheet.
  2. Biographical sketch in NIH format.
  3. Description of the proposed research project. Applicants should propose experiments based on their best work. The proposal should be introduced with an abstract of 200 words or less, followed by a detailed statement of plans for the three-year research program. The proposed research does not need to present a totally new line of research, but it should not be identical to projects supported by other funders. The proposal (abstract, narrative and figures, but not bibliography) should not exceed six numbered, single-spaced pages, in 12-point font with one-inch margins.
  4. Proposed budget. The applicant should indicate how he/she/they proposes to use the McKnight Scholar Award funds ($225,000 paid in equal installments of $75,000 in 2022, 2023, and 2024). Allowable budget items include salaries and fringe benefits, equipment, supplies, animal costs, costs for technical services, etc. The application should include itemized budgets for each year, in a tabulated column/dollar amount format; narrative budgets are not acceptable. Funds cannot be used for overhead or indirect costs.
  5. List of Active and Pending Funding (annual direct costs to lab).
  6. Statement from responsible financial officer at sponsoring institution.
  7. Supporting information from applicant’s chairperson at sponsoring institution.
  8. Five recent publications.
  • Four references from former teachers, supervisors, or senior colleagues familiar with the applicant’s work. Letters of reference must be sent separately and in confidence by the four individuals listed as references on the face sheet of the application.

Selection Process

The McKnight Scholar Awards Review committee (to be updated Fall 2020) will evaluate the applications and select a limited number of applicants to be interviewed. Applicants will be notified in late March and interviews are scheduled for Friday, April 29, 2022 via zoom.

The committee recommends candidates to the Board of Directors of the Endowment Fund for final decision. Awards will be announced in late May 2022.

Eligibility

In this competition, up to six McKnight Scholars will be selected to receive three years of support, beginning July 1, 2022.

A candidate for a McKnight Scholar Award must work as an independent investigator at a not-for-profit research institution in the United States, and must hold a faculty position at the rank of Assistant Professor, and must have served at that rank for less than four years at the application deadline. Those holding other titles such as Research Assistant Professor, Adjunct Assistant Professor, Professor Research Track, Visiting Professor or Instructor are not eligible, and time spent in service in those ranks does not count against the four years of service for determining eligibility. If the host institution does not use professorial titles, a letter from a senior institutional official (e.g., Dean or Director of Research) must confirm that the applicant has his/her own dedicated institutional resources, laboratory space, and/or facilities.

A candidate may not hold another award from the McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience that would overlap in time with the Scholar award. A candidate cannot apply in more than two rounds of competition for a Scholar Award.

Amount and Purpose of Support

Each McKnight Scholar will receive $75,000 annually in 2022, 2023, and 2024. Funds may be used in any way that will facilitate development of the Scholar’s research program, but not for indirect costs.

Application & Guidelines

Download

Online Instructions

The application process is completely online. Click below to access the application form.

Start Application

Deadlines

Application due January 10, 2022.

English